Physical Therapy Board of California
To access information on how to renew your PT/PTA license, please visit the License Renewal page.
Renewal statements are sent out approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license. Therefore, it is extremely important that you notify the Physical Therapy Board of California immediately of any change in your mailing address.
It is important to remember that it may take anywhere from three to six weeks to process your license renewal. This is indicated on the renewal statement, which is sent to all licensees approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date. To ensure your license is renewed prior to its expiration, it is advisable that you submit your renewal payment at least six weeks beforehand.
To check on the status of your renewal, please access the Online License Verification. The licensee information is updated nightly, and it is the same information that is available to the Board staff.
Address and name changes may be completed online through your Breeze account.
The fee for written license verification to another state is $60. Visit License Verification if you need the Board to submit a written verification to another state.
The law does not allow a PT or PTA who is licensed in another state to work until an application has been submitted to the Board and the person has received written notification from the Board that they have been granted applicant status.
It is the responsibility of the supervising PT to supervise all of the above according to the laws and regulations that have been established for each assisting personnel.
CPTA can be contacted via their web site at www.ccapta.org, or by telephone at (916) 929-2782.
APTA can be contacted via their web site at www.APTA.org, or by telephone at (800) 999-2782.