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TITLE 16. 
PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING CONCERNING 
Retired License §1399.18 

Physical Therapist Fees §1399.50 
Physical Therapist Assistant Fees §1399.52 

Of the California Code of Regulations 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Physical Therapy Board of California (Board) is 
proposing to adopt a new Article 1.5, a new Section 1399.18 of Article 1.5 and amend 
Sections 1399.50 and 1399.52 of Article 10 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the California Code 
of Regulations (CCR), as described in the Informative Digest below, after considering all 
comments, objections, and recommendations regarding the proposed action. 

PUBLIC HEARING 
The Board has not scheduled a public hearing on this proposed action. However, the Board 
will hold a hearing if it receives a written request for a public hearing, from any interested 
person, or a person’s authorized representative, no later than 15 days prior to the close of 
the written comment period. A hearing may be requested by making such request, in writing, 
addressed to the individuals listed under “Contact Person” in this Notice. 

WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD 

Any interested person, or a person’s authorized representative, may submit written 
comments relevant to the proposed regulatory action to the address listed under Contact 
Person in this Notice . Comments may also be submitted by facsimile (FAX) at 916 263-
2560 or by e-mail to ptbc.rulemaking@dca.ca.gov. The written comment period closes at 
5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, August 2, 2022. The Board will consider only comments received 
at the Board’s office by 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, August 2, 2022, or at the public hearing, if 
one is requested. Submit comments to the Contact Persons listed in this Notice. 

AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE 

Business and Professions Code (BPC) sections 464 and 2615 authorize the Board to adopt 
this proposed regulation. The proposed regulation implements, interprets, and makes 
specific sections 118, 144, 163.5, 464, 2644, 2647, 2649, 2660 and 2688 of the BPC. 

INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW 

Physical therapists (PT) are licensed health care practitioners that perform physical therapy 
and physical therapist assistants (PTA) are licensed health care practitioners that provide 
physical therapy services under the supervision of a licensed physical therapist (BPC section 
2630.3). Both are regulated pursuant to the Physical Therapy Practice Act (BPC 2600 and 
following). BPC section 464 provides that boards within the Department of Consumer Affairs 
may provide for a retired license category. 
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While BPC section 464 gave the Board statutory authority to issue retired licenses, it did 
not specify the provisions and procedures for obtaining such licenses. Therefore, without 
regulations in place, there is no formal process for a licensee who is retired and no longer 
practicing placing their license on a retired status and alleviate the expense of license 
renewal fees for a license they are no longer using. 

Currently, licensed PTs and PTAs who no longer wish to practice must either utilize the 
inactive status pursuant to CCR 1399.98 and pay the biennial renewal fee of $300 or choose 
not to renew in inactive status, let their license expire into delinquent status, and cancel after 
five years. By providing a means to obtain a retired status, licensees who are no longer 
practicing avoid the possible stigma in their professional community from having a licensed 
placed in a “delinquent” or “cancelled” status and can be relieved from the expense of 
renewal fees. 

The Board’s proposal would address the foregoing issues by: 

• (1) adopting CCR section 1399.18 to specify who is eligible for a retired license, how 
to apply for and obtain a retired license, and how a holder of a retired license may return to 
active status; and, 

• (2) amending CCR sections 1399.50 and 1399.52 to assign a fee of $100 for a retired 
license application fee for PTs and PTAs. 

These proposed regulations will also incorporate by reference the following applications: -
(1) Application for Retired License (RS1- New 09/2021) and (2) Application to Restore 
Retired License to Active Status (RS2-New 09/2021). 

Anticipated Benefits of the Proposed Regulation: 

This proposal would establish a consistent and simple process for obtaining retired license 
status and would eliminate barriers for those who wish to retire and have the option of placing 
their license in a retired status. It would also save costs for those licensees who select this 
status by not being required to pay renewal or other fees associated with continuing 
competency. This proposal further alleviates confusion to the public regarding the true status 
of an individual who does not wish to abandon their license by entering into delinquent status 
but would rather simply retire from practice. 

Evaluation of Inconsistency/Incompatibility with Existing State Regulations: 

During the process of developing these regulations and amendments, the Board conducted 
a search of similar regulations on this topic and concluded that these regulations are neither 
inconsistent nor incompatible with existing state regulations. 

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE 
- Application for Retired License (RS1- New 09/2021) 
- Application to Restore Retired License to Active Status (RS2-New 09/2021) 
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DISCLOSURES REGARDING THE PROPOSED ACTION 

Fiscal Impact Estimates 

Fiscal impact on public agencies including costs or savings to state agencies or 
costs/savings in federal funding to the state: 

The Board anticipates demand for the new retired status license type to be greatest in the 
first two years of implementation as inactive and active licensees opt to retire and apply for 
the new status with lower demand annually thereafter. The Board anticipates 
approximately 1,064 licensees apply for the retired license status in the first two years of 
implementation and 689 licensees per year thereafter. 

The Board indicates an Office Technician will take approximately 95 minutes to process 
each application with workload costs of $101 per application, which results in costs ranging 
from $69,589 to $107,464 per year and up to $771,640 over a ten-year period. The Board 
estimates retired license type fee revenues of approximately $106,400 per year in the first 
two years of implementation, $68,900 per year thereafter, and up to $764,000 over a ten-
year period. Please see the Initial Statement of Reasons for further information. 

This regulatory proposal does not impact any costs or savings in federal funding to the 
state. 

Mandate on local agencies and school districts: None. 

Cost to any local agency or school district which must be reimbursed in accordance with 
Government Code sections 17500 through 17630: None 

Nondiscretionary costs or savings imposed on local agencies:  None 

Cost impacts on a representative private person or business: Licensees will have the option 
to apply for a retired license for a one-time fee of $100. The Board anticipates demand for 
the new retired status license type to be greatest in the first two years of implementation as 
inactive and active licensees opt to retire and apply for the new status with lower demand 
annually thereafter. 

The Board anticipates approximately 1,064 licensees will apply for the retired license in the 
first two years of implementation and 689 licensees per year thereafter, which results in an 
economic impact of $106,400 per year in the first two years of implementation, $68,900 per 
year thereafter, and up to $764,000 over a ten-year period. 

Effect on housing costs:  None 

Business Impact: 

The board has made an initial determination that the proposed regulatory action would 
have no significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting business, 
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including the ability of California businesses to compete with businesses and other states. 
This initial determination is based on the following facts: this proposed regulation 
establishes placement of a license in a retired status for a licensee who is not actively 
engaged in the practice of physical therapy or any activity that requires them to be licensed 
by the Board. Since licensees can currently choose to go inactive, or allow their licenses to 
lapse or cancel when they retire, there would be no effect on businesses when an 
individual opts to change their license title to “retired.”  

Licensees will have the option to apply for a retired license for a one-time fee of $100. The 
Board anticipates demand for the new retired status license type to be greatest in the first 
two years of implementation as inactive and active licensees opt to retire and apply for the 
new status with lower demand annually thereafter. 

The Board anticipates approximately 1,064 licensees apply for the retire license status in 
the first two years of implementation and 689 licensees per year thereafter, which results 
in an economic impact of $106,400 per year in the first two years of implementation, 
$68,900 per year thereafter, and up to $764,000 over a ten-year period. Please see Initial 
Statement of Reasons for further information. 

Effect on Small Business: 

As explained above, the Board has determined that the proposed regulation will not affect 
small businesses because the proposal would only affect those licensees who move into 
retired status unless the small business is owned by the retiring licensee, but since licensees 
can currently choose to go inactive, or allow their licenses to lapse or cancel when they 
retire, there would be no effect on businesses when an individual opts to change their license 
title to “retired.” 

Business Reporting Requirements: 

The regulatory action does not require businesses to file a report with the Board. 

RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT/ANALYSIS: 

The Board has determined that this regulatory proposal will not create or eliminate jobs, will 
not create new business or eliminate existing businesses, and will not affect the expansion 
of businesses currently doing business within the State of California or eliminate jobs 
because the proposal is not of sufficient magnitude to create or eliminate jobs or businesses 
or affect the expansion of businesses. The Board has made this initial determination 
because this proposed regulation simply affords licensees already retired from working as a 
physical therapist or a physical therapist assistant, the opportunity to place a license in a 
retired status. Since licensees currently choose to go inactive, or allow their licenses to lapse 
or cancel when they retire, there would be no effect on the workforce related to a change in 
license status nor an effect on new business or existing businesses or the expansion of 
businesses. 

This regulatory proposal will benefit the health and welfare of California residents because 
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consumers searching for a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant will find the 
license status to accurately reflect “retired.” This would indicate the licensee is no longer 
authorized to practice and would alleviate confusion regarding the true status of a licensee 
who does not choose to abandon their license but rather simply retire from practice. It would 
also benefit a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who has retired for less than 
five years and wishes to return to practice by giving them a process to do so. Currently, 
licensees who no longer wish to practice must either utilize the inactive status pursuant to 
CCR 1399.98 and pay the biennial renewal fee of $300 or choose not to renew in inactive 
status, let their license expire into delinquent status, and cancel after five years. This process 
relieves the financial burden of having to remain in active status and provides easy access 
to return to active status if desired. 

This regulatory proposal will not affect worker safety or the State’s environment because the 
proposal does not involve worker safety or environmental issues. The proposed regulation 
establishes the placement of a license into a retired license when the licensee is no longer 
actively engaged in the practice of physical therapy as well as a return to practice, if desired. 

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES 

In accordance with Government Code section 11346.5, subdivision (a)(13), the Board must 
determine that no reasonable alternative considered, or that has otherwise been identified 
and brought to its attention, will be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which the 
regulation is proposed, will be as effective and less burdensome to affected private persons 
than the adopted regulation, or will be more cost effective to affected private persons and 
equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law. 

The Board invites interested persons to present statements or arguments with respect to 
alternatives to the proposed regulation during the written comment period and submit them 
to the address listed under Contact Persons in this Notice. 

AVAILABILITY OF CHANGED OR MODIFIED TEXT 

After considering all timely and relevant comments, the Board, upon its own motion or at the 
request of any interested party, may thereafter adopt the proposals substantially as 
described below or may modify such proposals if such modifications are sufficiently related 
to the original text. With the exception of technical or grammatical changes, the full text of 
any modified proposal, with the modifications clearly indicated, will be available for review 
and written comment for 15 days prior to its adoption from the person designated in this 
Notice as the Contact Person and will be mailed to those persons who submit written or oral 
testimony related to this proposal or who have requested notification of any changes to the 
proposal.  

TEXT OF PROPOSAL 

Copies of the exact language of the proposed regulations, and any document incorporated 
by reference, and of the Initial Statement of Reasons (ISOR), and all of the information upon 
which the proposal is based, may be obtained upon request from the Board at 2005 
Evergreen Street, Suite 2600, Sacramento, California 95815. 
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AVAILABILITY OF STATEMENT OF REASONS AND RULEMAKING FILE 

The Board has compiled a record for this regulatory action, which includes the Initial 
Statement of Reasons (ISOR), proposed regulatory text, documents incorporated by 
reference, and all the information on which this proposal is based. This material is contained 
in the rulemaking file and is available for public inspection upon request to the Contact 
Persons named in this Notice. 

AVAILABILITY OF THE FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 

Upon its completion, copies of the Final Statement of Reasons may be obtained by 
contacting the Contact Persons named in this Notice. 

CONTACT PERSONS 

Inquiries concerning the proposed administrative action may be directed to: 

Sarah Conley 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350 
Sacramento, California 95815 
Telephone: (916) (916) 561-8200 
Fax: (916) 263-2560 
Email Address: ptbc.rulemaking@dca.ca.gov 

The backup contact person is: 

Brooke Arneson 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2600 
Sacramento, California 95815 
Telephone: (916) 561-8200 
Fax: (916) 263-2560 
Email Address: ptbc.rulemaking@dca.ca.gov 

Website Access: Materials regarding this proposal can be found at 
https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/laws/prop_regs/index.shtml. 

AVAILABILITY OF DOCUMENTS ON THE INTERNET 

Copies of the Notice of Proposed Action, the Initial Statement of Reasons, and the text of 
the regulation in underline and strikeout can be accessed through our website at: 
https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/laws/prop_regs/index.shtml. 
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Notice of Extension of Public Comment Period 

Notice is hereby given that the Physical Therapy Board of California (hereinafter 
“Board”) is proposing to adopt a new Article 1.5 and a new Section 1399.18 of Article 
1.5 and amend sections 1399.50 and 1399.52 to Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations related to Retired License and Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist 
Assistant Fees. The comment period was initially noticed beginning on June 17, 2022 
and ending on August 2, 2022. Due to the Board failing to notice the public timely, the 
Board is extending the end of the comment period to August 5, 2022. Written 
comments, including those sent by mail or e-mail to the addresses listed under Contact 
Person in this Notice, must be received by the Board at its office no later than 11:59 
p.m., Friday, August 5, 2022. 

CONTACT PERSONS: 

Any inquiries or comments concerning the proposed rulemaking action may be 
addressed to: 

Brooke Arneson 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2600 
Sacramento, California 95815 
Telephone: (916) 561-8260 
Email Address: ptbc.rulemaking@dca.ca.gov 

The backup contact person is: 

Elsa Ybarra 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350 
Sacramento, California 95815 
Telephone: (916) 561-8262 
Email Address: ptbc.rulemaking@dca.ca.gov 

Website Access: Materials regarding this proposal can be found at 
https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/laws/prop_regs/index.shtml. 
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DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 

PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD 

PROPOSED REGULATORY LANGUAGE REGARDING RETIRED LICENSE STATUS 

Legend: Added text is indicated with an underline. 
Omitted text is indicated by (* * * *) 
Deleted text is indicated by strikeout. 

Add Article 1.5 and Section 1399.18 to Article 1.5 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the 

California Code of Regulations to read as follows: 

Article 1.5 License Status 

§ 1399.18. Retired License 

(a) For the purposes of this section, “disciplinary reasons” means that the applicant’s 
practice was restricted by order of the Board for violations of the Physical Therapy 
Practice Act, Physical Therapy Regulations, or Section 822 of the Code, including 
orders resulting from: 

(1) an accusation filed pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act (Government 
Code Section 11500 et seq.) seeking to revoke, suspend, or place the license on 
probation; or, 

(2) an interim suspension order filed pursuant to Section 494 of the Code. 

(b) A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant licensee (“applicant”) may apply 
for and, upon compliance with the requirements in subdivision (d), be issued a 
license by the Board in retired status (“retired license”). 

(c) A holder of a retired license is not required to renew that license or meet the 
continuing competency requirements of section 1399.91. 

(d) In order to be eligible for a retired license, an applicant shall: 

(1) Submit a completed form to the Board titled “Application for Retired License 
(RS1 (New 09/2021)),” which is hereby incorporated by reference; 

(2) Pay the nonrefundable retired license application fee as set forth in section 
1399.50 or 1399.52, as applicable; 

(3) Have an active or inactive license issued by the Board; 

(4) Not have been placed on inactive status by the Board due to disciplinary 
reasons; and, 

(5) Not be actively engaged in practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant or engaged in any activity that requires them to be licensed by the 
Board. 

(e) A holder of a retired license issued pursuant to this section shall not engage in any 
activity for which an active license is required. 

Physical Therapy Board Proposed Text Page 1 of 2 
16 CCR 1399.14.1, 1399.50, and 1399.52 Retired License and Fees 4/22/22 



 

      

     
 

        
      

        
    

  

    
     

  

   
   

      

  
  

   
   

   

     
    

 

 
  

   
 

 

            

  

     
       

 
     

 
       

          
 

      
      

 
 

    
 

       
           

(f) To be eligible to restore a retired license to active status within five years of being 
issued a retired license, an applicant shall: 

(1) Complete and submit a form to the Board titled “Application to Restore 
Retired License to Active Status (RS2 (New 09/2021)),” which is hereby 
incorporated by reference; 

(2) Pay the nonrefundable biennial renewal fee for a physical therapist or 
physical therapist assistant, as set forth in sections 1399.50 or 1399.52, as 
applicable; 

(3) Have completed a minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing competency 
within the last two years prior to applying to restore the license to active 
status in compliance with Article 13 (commencing with section 1399.90); and, 

(4) If an electronic record of the submission of fingerprints does not exist in the 
Department of Justice’s criminal offender identification database and on 
written request of the board, furnish to the Department of Justice a full set of 
fingerprints for the purposes of conducting criminal history record checks 
pursuant to Section 144 of the Code. 

(g) If a licensee who has been in retired status for more than five years seeks an active 
license, the individual may apply for a new license in accordance with Section 2647 
of the Code. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 464 and 2615, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 118, 144, 464, 2647, 2649, 2660, and 2688, Business and 
Professions Code. 

Amend sections 1399.50 and 1399.52 of Article 10 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of 

the California Code of Regulations to read as follows: 

§ 1399.50. Physical Therapist Fees. 
Pursuant to sSection 2688 of the cCode, physical therapist fees are fixed as follows: 

* * * * 
(f) The retired license application fee shall be $100.00. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 2615, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 163.5, 464, 2644, and 2688, Business and Professions Code. 

§ 1399.52. Physical Therapist Assistant Fees. 
Pursuant to sSection 2688 of the cCode, physical therapist assistant fees are fixed as 
follows: 

* * * * 
(e) The retired license application fee shall be $100.00. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 2615, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 163.5, 464, 2644, and 2688, Business and Professions Code. 
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DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 

2005 Evergreen St., Suite 2600, Sacramento, CA 95815 

P (916) 561-8200 | F (916) 263-2560 | E pt@dca.ca.gov 

www.ptbc.ca.gov • facebook.com/ptbcnews • twitter.com/ptbcnews 

Application for Retired License 

To be eligible for a retired license, you must have an active or inactive license issued by the Board, complete this 
form, and submit it to the Board by mail to the above address with a check or money order payable to the 
Physical Therapy Board of California for $100. Failure to provide any requested information or fee may prevent, 
or significantly delay, the processing of your request. Upon approval, your current license will be replaced with a 
retired license. You can verify your updated license status on the PTBC's website under “Verify a License." 
Licensees who are inactive for disciplinary reasons do not qualify for a retired license. 

Licensees issued a retired license are prohibited from engaging in the practice of, or assisting in the provision of, 
physical therapy or physical therapy assistant services. Such licensees are exempt from the renewal fee and 
continuing competency requirements. For full information on retired license status requirements, refer to Section 
1399.18 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR). 

SECTION A: Personal Information 

License Type: ☐ PT ☐ PTA 
License Number 

First Name Middle Name Last Name 

Last Four Digits of SSN Date of Birth 

Work Phone Daytime Phone Email Address 

*ADDRESS OF RECORD 
(include City, State, Zip): 

Confidential Street 
Address: 

* Current public / mailing address. If using a P.O. Box, you must also provide a confidential street address. 

SECTION B: Qualification for Retired License Status 

Are you actively engaged in practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant or engaged in any activity 
that requires you to be licensed by the Board? 

 Yes  No 

SECTION C: Declaration (See Attachment A before signing) 

By signing below, I am requesting Retired License Status. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information given above is true 
and correct, and that I am the person who was issued the license by the Physical Therapy Board of California. 

Signature: Date: 

RS1 (New 09/2021) 

mailto:pt@dca.ca.gov
http://www.ptbc.ca.gov/
https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/
https://twitter.com/ptbcnews


 
   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  
 
 

    
 

          
         
            

         
         
         

          
      

          
         

             
      

 
 
 
 

ATTACHMENT A 

PERSONAL INFORMATION COLLECTION NOTICE: 

The information provided in this form will be used by the Physical Therapy Board of California 
(“Board”) to process your request to change your license status to retired. Section 464 of the 
Business and Professions Code and Section 1399.18 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations authorizes the collection of this information. Failure to provide any of the required 
information (except the email address) is grounds for rejection of the form as being incomplete. 
Information provided may be transferred to the Department of Justice, a District Attorney, a City 
Attorney, or to another government agency as may be necessary to permit the Board, or the 
transferee agency, to perform its statutory or constitutional duties, or otherwise transferred or 
disclosed as provided in Civil Code Section 1798.24. Each individual has the right to review 
their file, except as otherwise provided by the Information Practices Act. The Custodian of 
Records of the Board is responsible for maintaining the information in this form, and may be 
contacted at 2005 Evergreen St., Suite 2600, Sacramento, CA 95815, telephone number (916) 
561‐8200, regarding questions about this notice or access to records. 

RS1 (New 09/2021) 
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Application to Restore Retired License to Active Status 

To restore your retired license to active within five years of your retired license being issued, complete this form 
and submit it to the Board at the address above by mail with a check or money order for the renewal fee made 
payable to the Physical Therapy Board of California for $300. 

Failure to provide any requested information may prevent or significantly delay the processing of your request. You 
can verify your updated license status on the PTBC's website under “Verify a License." You are not authorized to 
practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant until your license has been restored to active status. 

For full information on requirements to restore a retired license to active, refer to Section 1399.18 of Title 16 of the 
California Code of Regulations (CCR). 

SECTION A: Personal Information 

License Type: ☐ PT ☐ PTA 
License Number 

First Name Middle Name Last Name 

Last Four Digits of SSN Date of Birth 

Work Phone Daytime Phone Email Address 

*ADDRESS OF RECORD 
(include City, State, Zip): 

Confidential Street 
Address: 

* Current public / mailing address. If using a P.O. Box, you must also provide a confidential street address. 

SECTION B: Mandatory Conviction and License Disciplined Disclosure Question 

1. Since you placed your license in Retired status, have you had any license disciplined by a licensing board in or 
outside of California, a state, or agency of the federal government? For the purposes of this question, 
“disciplined” means revoked, suspended, placed on probation, reproved, reprimanded, or otherwise restricted 
from practicing physical therapy or another business or profession. 

 *Yes  No 
*If you answered yes to this question please provide details. If you have had a license disciplined, provide 
copies of the disciplinary order and any documentation of rehabilitation to the PTBC. 
If you had a license disciplined, list the state(s) in which your license was disciplined: 

2. Have you been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any felony, misdemeanor, or other criminal 
offense under thelaws of any state, the United States, or a foreign country, including any conviction which has 
been dismissed under Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code? If you are awaiting judgment and sentencing following 
entry of a plea or jury verdict, you must still disclose the conviction. 

 *Yes  No 
*If you answered yes to this question please provide details. If you have been convicted, please provide 
CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES of the court and arrest records for each criminal offense to the PTBC. 

Mail all documents within 30 days of the date you submitted this application to: 
PTBC 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2600, Sacramento, CA 95815. 

RS2 (New 09/2021) 

mailto:pt@dca.ca.gov
https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/
https://www.facebook.com/PTBCnews
https://www.twitter.com/PTBCnews


 
   

 

 

     
 

  
          

           
  

    
    

    

   
   

 
 

 

 

       

 
     

 

  
 

     

 

 
 

  
 

    
 

            
         
            

       
           

  
       

          
          

            
            

           
 

 
 

    

           

SECTION C: Continuing Competency Requirements: 

Physical therapist and physical therapist assistant licensees must certify they have completed all 
continuing competency requirements required to restore a Retired license to Active. Continuing 
competency activity must be completed within the last two years prior to application and must be in 
compliance with Article 13 (commencing with Section 1399.90) (“Board’s continuing competency 
requirements”). Do not submit proof of completion of continuing competency activity with this 
request. Retain proof of completion for your records and provide to the PTBC only if requested. 

Continuing Competency Compliance Statement: 

By signing below, I certify that I have completed at least 30 hours of the Board’s continuing 
competency requirements within the last two years. 

SECTION D: Declaration (See Attachment A before signing) 

By signing below, I am requesting Restoration of my Retired License to Active License Status. 

I DECLARE UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY UNDER THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
THAT THE FOREGOING IS TRUE AND CORRECT. 

Signature: Date: 

ATTACHMENT A 

PERSONAL INFORMATION COLLECTION NOTICE: 

The information provided in this form will be used by the Physical Therapy Board of California 
(“Board”) to process your request to restore your status to active status. Section 464 of the 
Business and Professions Code and Section 1399.18 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations authorizes the collection of this information. Failure to provide any of the required 
information (except the email address) is grounds for rejection of the form as being incomplete. 
Information provided may  be transferred to the Department of Justice, a District Attorney, a City 
Attorney, or to another government agency as may be necessary to permit the Board, or the 
transferee agency, to perform its statutory or constitutional duties, or otherwise transferred or 
disclosed as provided in Civil Code Section 1798.24. Each individual has the right to review his 
or her file, except as otherwise provided by the Information Practices Act. The Custodian of 
Records of the Board is responsible for maintaining the information in this form, and may be 
contacted at 2005 Evergreen St., Suite 2600, Sacramento, CA 95815, telephone number (916) 
561‐8200, regarding questions about this notice or access to records. 

FOR PTBC USE ONLY 

Date: Initials: RECEIPT #: ATS#: Amount: $ Check #: 

RS2 (New 09/2021) 
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PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 

INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 

Subject Matter of Proposed Regulations: Retired License and Fees 

Sections Affected: Add section 1399.18 to new Article 1.5 and amend sections 1399.50 
and 1399.52 of Article 10 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations (CCR) 

Hearing Date: A hearing has not been scheduled, unless requested. 

Specific Purpose of Each Adoption, Amendment, or Repeal: 

INTRODUCTION: 

Physical therapists (PT) are licensed health care practitioners that perform physical 
therapy and physical therapist assistants (PTA) are licensed health care practitioners 
that provide physical therapy services under the supervision of a licensed physical 
therapist. Both are regulated pursuant to the Physical Therapy Practice Act (Act) 
(Business and Professions Code (BPC) sections 2600 et seq.). 

In 2013, Senate Bill (SB) 198 (Lieu, Ch. 389, Stats. 2013) was chaptered into law, 
adding BPC section 2648.7 to the Physical Therapy Practice Act. The amendment to 
the Act exempted a licensee from paying the renewal fee and from meeting the 
requirements set forth in BPC section 2649 (continuing competency) if the licensee 
applied to the Board for retired license. However, SB 198 failed to adequately include a 
provision for application or reactivation, or a fee for administrative costs. At the end of 
FY 2020/21, the Board had issued retired status to 537 of its 43,570 licensees since the 
Board was mandated to do so even though there was no means to support the program 
in terms of funding or specified requirements for exemption. In 2015, the Board was 
pursuing clarifying regulations to establish retired license requirements when Assembly 
Bill (AB) 2859 (Low, Ch. 473, Stats. 2016,) was introduced and signed into law.  AB 
2859 authorized a board to establish regulations for a retired license system; however, 
the statute excluded a board that had other statutory authority to establish a retired 
license. Because BPC section 2648.7 exempted a licensee from payment of renewal 
fees but did not specifically authorize the Board to establish a retired license, it was 
unclear whether the Board would be exempt from the provisions of AB 2859. 
Accordingly, during its 2016 Sunset Review, the legislature addressed this issue by 
repealing BPC section 2648.7, which enabled the Board to rely on the new retired 
license statute, BPC section 4641. 

Business and Professions Code 464. 

(a) Any of the boards within the department may establish, by regulation, a system for a retired category 
of licensure for persons who are not actively engaged in the practice of their profession or vocation. 

(b) The regulation shall contain the following: 
(1) A retired license shall be issued to a person with either an active license or an inactive license that 

was not placed on inactive status for disciplinary reasons. 

Physical Therapy Board Initial Statement of Reasons Page 1 of 18 
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Generally, the legislative history of AB 2859 acknowledged that licensees disfavor the 
alternative “inactive” license status because it holds negative connotations and does not 
appropriately illustrate the decades of service from the license holder. (Assembly Floor 
Analysis of AB 2859, 8/24/16.) 

After a fee study of the costs involved was conducted, at the Board’s September 17, 
2021, meeting, the Board discussed and approved the proposed addition of 16 CCR 
1399.18 and the amendment of 16 CCR 1399.50 and 1399.52 to implement BPC 
section 464. (See Underlying Data.) 

This proposal would establish minimum eligibility requirements to enter into retired 
license as well as define requirements for restoring a license to an active status should 
a licensee with a retired license choose. These proposed regulations will also 
incorporate by reference the application to enter retired license (RS1 (NEW 09/2021)) 
and the application to restore a retired license into active status (RS2 (NEW 09/2021)). 
Additionally, the Board proposes to amend sections 1399.50 and 1399.52 to set a one-
time $100 application fee to enter retired license. 

The Problem to be Addressed and Anticipated Benefits 

While BPC section 464 gave the Board statutory authority to place a license into retired 
license, it did not specify the provisions and procedures for obtaining such licenses. 
Therefore, without regulations in place, there is no formal process for a licensee who is 
retired and no longer practicing placing their license in a retired license and alleviate the 
expense of license renewal fees for a license they are no longer maintaining in active 
status. 

(2) The holder of a retired license issued pursuant to this section shall not engage in any activity for 
which a license is required, unless the board, by regulation, specifies the criteria for a retired 
licensee to practice his or her profession or vocation. 

(3) The holder of a retired license shall not be required to renew that license. 
(4) The board shall establish an appropriate application fee for a retired license to cover the 

reasonable regulatory cost of issuing a retired license. 
(5) In order for the holder of a retired license issued pursuant to this section to restore his or her 

license to an active status, the holder of that license shall meet all the following: 
(A) Pay a fee established by statute or regulation. 
(B) Certify, in a manner satisfactory to the board, that he or she has not committed an act or 

crime constituting grounds for denial of licensure. 
(C) Comply with the fingerprint submission requirements established by regulation. 
(D) If the board requires completion of continuing education for renewal of an active license, 

complete continuing education equivalent to that required for renewal of an active license, 
unless a different requirement is specified by the board. 

(E) Complete any other requirements as specified by the board by regulation. 
(c) A board may upon its own determination, and shall upon receipt of a complaint from any person, 

investigate the actions of any licensee, including a person with a license that either restricts or 
prohibits the practice of that person in his or her profession or vocation, including, but not limited to, a 
license that is retired, inactive, canceled, revoked, or suspended. 

(d) Subdivisions (a) and (b) shall not apply to a board that has other statutory authority to establish a 
retired license. 

(Added by Stats. 2016, Ch. 473, Sec. 1. (AB 2859) Effective January 1, 2017.) 
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Currently, licensed PTs and PTAs who no longer wish to practice must either utilize the 
inactive status pursuant to CCR 1399.98 and pay the biennial renewal fee of $300 or 
choose not to renew in inactive status, let their license expire into delinquent status, and 
cancel after five years. By providing a means to obtain a retired status, licensees who 
are no longer practicing avoid the possible stigma in their professional community from 
having a licensed placed in a “delinquent” or “cancelled” status and can be relieved from 
the expense of renewal fees. 

For these reasons, having a retired license application, specified eligibility criteria for a 
retired license, and an established fee creates an environment more conducive to 
facilitating retired status compliance for PTs and PTAs who wish to retire, including 
establishing standards that would alleviate the time and expense of renewing a license 
that is not being used. The Board’s proposal would address the foregoing issues by: 

• (1) adopting CCR section 1399.18 to specify who is eligible for a retired 
license, how to apply for and obtain a retired license, and how a holder of a 
retired license may return to active status; and, 

• (2) amending CCR sections 1399.50 and 1399.52 to assign a fee of $100 for a 
retired license application fee for PTs and PTAs. 

Factual Basis/Rationale 

The Board proposes the addition of “Article 1.5 – License Status” for organizational 
purposes. 

The Board proposes the adoption of CCR section 1399.18 and the amendment of CCR 
sections 1399.50 and 1399.52 for the following reasons: 

Section 1399.18 – Retired License 

(1) Add new subsection (a); This proposal will create a new subsection (a) for 
defining “disciplinary reasons,” which may prevent a licensee from entering into a 
retired license. BPC section 464 authorizes the Board to implement a system for 
retired category of licensure through regulation and requires the regulation to 
contain specified criteria listed in subdivisions (b)(1)-(1)(4).  This definition 
implements, interprets, or makes specific the provisions of BPC 464(b)(1), “A 
retired license shall be issued to a person with either an active license or an 
inactive license that was not placed on inactive status for disciplinary reasons” 
(emphasis added). 

Existing law and regulation do not include a definition for “disciplinary reasons,” 
which is subject to multiple interpretations. This definition is therefore necessary 
for the regulated community to understand the requirements in subdivision (b)(1) 
of BPC section 464 and the implementing regulation contained in subsection 
(d)(4), below. The proposed definition accurately reflects the grounds for 
disciplining a license pursuant to BPC sections 822 and 2660 and the 
mechanisms the Board would use to take such actions in compliance with the 
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requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act (Accusations initiate action to 
restrict or limit a license per Government Code section 11503) and BPC section 
494 (interim suspension orders). Here, discipline is delineated as a restricted 
license after the formal administrative hearing process, the results of which could 
involve revocation or suspension of a license, or restrictive practice conditions on 
the license. It includes orders issued by the Board restricting the license under 
BPC 822, which could stem from a licensee’s impairment due to mental illness or 
physical illness affecting competency. 

(2) Add new subsection (b); Currently, there are no existing regulatory requirements 
that set minimum compliance standards for a physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant licensee to apply for and be issued a license by the Board in 
retired license status (“retired license” is added as a shorthand reference for 
easier comprehension). This proposal would set such standards by specifying 
that a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant licensee may apply for and 
be issued a license in retired status, provided all eligibility requirements in 
1399.18 subsection (d)(1) – (5) are met. This subdivision would also create a 
shorthand reference for “applicant” that would include either a physical therapist 
or physical therapist assistant licensee applying for retired status for ease of 
reference and comprehension of the regulatory proposal. It is necessary to note 
that both license types are eligible to prevent confusion. 

(3) Add new subsection (c); BPC section 464 authorizes the Board to implement a 
system for retired category of licensure through regulation and requires the 
regulation to contain specified criteria listed in subdivisions (b)(1)-(1)(4).  This 
definition implements, interprets, or makes specific the provisions of BPC 
464(b)(3), which provides: “[t]he holder of retired license shall not be required to 
renew that license.” Since renewal requirements typically include meeting the 
continuing competency requirements in CCR section 1399.91, this proposal would 
specify that a holder of a retired license is not required to renew the license and is 
therefore also exempt from meeting the continuing competency requirements as 
specified in CCR section 1399.91. This is consistent with the intent of BPC section 
464 and would avoid licensee confusion about whether continuing education 
prescribed by CCR section 1399.91 would still be required to maintain the retired 
license. 

(4) Add new subsection (d)(1) – (5); Currently, there are no existing regulatory 
requirements that set minimum compliance standards for a physical therapist or 
physical therapist assistant licensee to apply for and be issued a license by the 
Board in retired status. This proposal outlines the minimum eligibility requirements 
to enter into a retired license as follows: 

• Add new subsection (d)(1); Specifies the requirement to use the form titled 
“Application for Retired License (RS1 (New 09/2021))” to obtain a retired 
license. The form, incorporated by reference and described below, 
identifies all requisite information an applicant must provide when applying 
for a retired license. Providing all required information in this application 
provides a simple and convenient way for an applicant to determine what 
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information needs to be provided to meet the Board’s eligibility criteria. 
Applications on a prescribed form are consistent with the Board’s 
administrative practices and application’s consolidation of requirements 
into one convenient format enable the Board to more easily determine 
whether all minimum criteria for issuance of a retired license are met. 

• Add new subsection (d)(2); This proposal requires the applicant to pay a 
fee as prescribed in CCR sections 1399.50 and 1399.52. The fee covers 
administrative costs for processing an application for retired license which 
is justified in the Fiscal Impact Assessment, below. These fees are 
necessary for the Board to recover its costs of processing these 
applications and to implement its responsibilities under BPC section 
464(b)(4) to “establish an appropriate application fee for a retired license to 
cover the reasonable regulatory cost of issuing a retired license.” This 
subdivision is also necessary to provide notice to the applicant that the 
required fee must be paid in order to be eligible for a retired license. 

• Add new subsection (d)(3); This proposal requires the licensee to have 
either an active or inactive license status at the time of application, which is 
a requirement of BPC section 464. BPC section 464 authorizes the Board 
to implement a system for retired category of licensure through regulation 
and requires the regulation to contain specified criteria listed in 
subdivisions (b)(1)-(1)(4).  This definition implements, interprets, or makes 
specific the provisions of BPC 464(b)(1), which provides: “[a] retired license 
shall be issued to a person with either an active license or an inactive 
license that was not placed on inactive status for disciplinary reasons.” This 
provision is therefore necessary because the Legislature determined that 
this provision should be included in the Board’s regulation. In addition, the 
Board notes that all other license status’ are indicative of either an 
administrative action by the Board or a lapse in license status. For the 
reasons described above and below (subsections (a) and (d)(4)), only 
allowing a license in good standing to be placed in retired status fulfills the 
Board’s consumer protection mandate. Specifying active or inactive allows 
a licensee who had gone inactive while in good standing to take advantage 
of the new license status opportunity. 

• Add new subsection (d)(4); This proposal prohibits eligibility for a retired 
license if the licensee was placed on inactive status by the Board for 
disciplinary reasons. As explained in (d)(3)’s rationale above, .” this 
provision is necessary because the Legislature determined that this 
provision should be included in the Board’s regulation and would expressly 
require that the licensee “not have been placed on inactive status by the 
Board due to disciplinary reasons.”.  The Board believes this is consistent 
with the legislature’s intent that a licensee who has demonstrated poor 
judgement by violating the laws and regulations governing the practice of 
physical therapy is not a candidate for a retired license. 

• Add new subsection (d)(5); BPC section 464 authorizes the Board to 
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implement a system for retired category of licensure through regulation and 
requires the regulation to contain specified criteria listed in subdivisions 
(b)(1)-(1)(4).  This definition implements, interprets, or makes specific the 
provisions of BPC 464(b)(2), which provides: “[t]he holder of a retired 
license issued pursuant to this section shall not engage in any activity for 
which a license is required, unless the board, by regulation, specifies the 
criteria for a retired licensee to practice his or her profession or vocation.” 
The intent of this proposal is to implement this new category of retired 
license for those individuals who are truly retired and wish to no longer 
practice  The Board therefore has established criteria in this subdivision 
that makes it clear and provides notice to applicants that in order to obtain 
a retired license the applicant must “not be actively engaged in practice as 
a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant or engaged in any 
activity that requires them to be licensed by the Board.” In other words, the 
applicant must truly be retired to qualify for this retired license. Allowing 
licensees actively engaged in practice as a PT or PTA to be eligible and 
apply would conflict with the intent and purpose of BPC section 464(b)(2) 
and render it unduly burdensome for the Board to investigate and verify at 
some unknown later date. Including a requirement that the applicant be not 
actively engaged in the practice provides clear and consistent direction on 
the true purpose for the new license category and provides reasonable 
assurances to the Board that licensees know and understand their 
responsibilities when applying for this new license category. 

(5) Add Form RS1 (New 9/2021) in subsection (d)(1); 
Introduction and instructions to applicants: 
(a) The form instructs an applicant that to be eligible for a retired license they must 
have an active or inactive license issued by the Board, complete the form and 
submit it to the Board by mail to the above address with a check or money order 
payable to the Physical Therapy Board of California for $100. This instruction is 
necessary to provide adequate notice to applicants of the minimum requirements for 
an applicant’s submission of an application and to help ensure that the Board 
receives completed applications. 

(b) The form instructs the applicant that failure to provide any requested information 
or fee may prevent or significantly delay the processing of their request. This 
instruction is necessary to put applicants on notice that any information that is 
missing from the application may delay significantly the processing of their 
application and is provided in accordance with the Information Practices Act 
requirements of Civil Code section 1798.17(e) (provide on each form “the 
consequences, if any, of not providing all or any part of the requested information”.) 

(c) The form instructs the applicant that upon approval their current license will be 
replaced with a retired license. This instruction is necessary to help avoid confusion 
regarding what occurs from processing perspective when an individual applies for a 
retired license and what the consequences are for their existing license. 

(d) The form instructs an applicant that they can verify their updated license status 
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on the Board's website under “Verify a License.” This instruction is and is 
necessary to provide applicants with notice of a simple straightforward method (via 
the Board’s website) of confirming any changes to their license status. 

(e) This form instructs applicants that licensees who are inactive for disciplinary 
reasons do not qualify for a retired license. BPC section 464 and this proposal 
would prohibit a licensee from qualifying for retired license if they are inactive for 
disciplinary reasons. Consequently, this instruction is necessary to provide notice to 
applicants of this disqualifying criteria, which will help ensure that the Board 
receives more qualified applicants. 

(f) This form instructs applicants that licensees issued a retired license are 
prohibited from engaging in the practice of, or assisting in the provision of, physical 
therapy or physical therapy assistant services.  This instruction is necessary to 
place licensees on notice of the compliance requirements of BPC section 464 which 
prohibits such practice while retaining a retired license. This will help ensure 
compliance and avoid possible disciplinary action of a retired license for failure to 
comply. 

(g) The form instructs that retired licensees are exempt from the renewal fee and 
continuing competency requirements. This instruction is necessary to inform 
applicants of the exemptions available to retired licensees and the standards set 
forth in proposed section 1399.18 and to avoid confusion regarding requirements of 
maintaining a retired license. 

(h) This form instructs applicants that they may refer to section 1399.18 of Title 16 
of the California Code of Regulations for full information on retired license 
requirements. This instruction is necessary to advise applicants where they may 
consult the actual rules related to retired license requirements with the goal of 
having a more fully informed and compliant licensee. 

This proposed incorporated form requires in Section A an applicant to list their 
license type, number, name, date of birth, work and daytime phone, email address, 
address of record, confidential street address, and last four digits of their social 
security number. This allows staff to match the applicant to the licensee on file, in 
accordance with subsection (d)(3), and provides necessary current contact 
information should any questions arise. The explanation of the address of record 
collection is to put applicants on notice that this information is the current publicly 
available address and address the Board will use to mail information to them.  To 
ensure the ability of the Board to serve legal process (subpoenas and other legal 
documents), the Board requires the disclosure of a confidential street address if the 
mailing address used by the applicant is a P.O. Box. 

In Section B of the form, applicants are asked about whether or not they are actively 
engaged in practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant or engage 
in any activity that requires them to be licensed by the Board . This is necessary to 
ensure that the applicant is, in fact, retired and qualifies for a retired license per 
proposed section 1399.18(d)(5). 
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In Section C, applicants declare they are requesting Retired Status, which is the 
point of this form. They also declare under penalty of perjury that the information is 
true and correct and that they are the person who is issued the license by the 
Physical Therapy Board of California. The general rule is that licenses are personal 
and therefore may not be transferred to any other person unless expressly 
authorized by law (see, e.g., Teachout v. Bogy (1917) 175 Cal. 481, 485). As a 
result, to help further confirm the identity of the applicant and provide notice and 
confirmation of their status as a current licensee, the Board requires the applicant to 
declare that they are the person who was issued the license by the Board. With 
respect to the certification under penalty of perjury requirement, Certification under 
penalty of perjury helps to ensure that the documentation contains truthful, factual 
representations made in good faith. (See e.g., In re Marriage of Reese & Guy 
(1999) 73 Cal.App.4th 1214, 1223 [judicial explanation for the use of certifications].) 
The Board relies upon applicants’ self-reported information in evaluating 
applications. In addition, the certification under penalty of perjury helps ensure the 
reliability of the statements to the Board (since certifying under penalty of perjury 
can have a deterrent effect on those who may be considering not providing true, 
accurate or complete information), and provides the Board with the option of 
seeking sanctions and referring the matter to law enforcement in the event that such 
information is not true, complete or accurate. [“The oath or declaration must be in 
such form that criminal sanctions of perjury might apply where material facts so 
declared to be true, are in fact not true or are not known to be true.” In re Marriage 
of Reese & Guy (1999) 73 Cal.App.4th 1214, 1223 [holding modified by Laborde v. 
Aronson (2001) 92 Cal.App.4th 459.] 

Finally, the application form includes the required notices and disclosures to the 
applicant for the Board’s collection of personal information in compliance with Civil 
Code section 1798.17 (which applicants are directed to read prior to signing the 
application in Section C). 

(6) Add new subsection (e); This proposal specifies that a holder of a retired license 
shall not engage in any activity for which an active license is required. BPC 
section 464 authorizes the Board to implement a system for retired category of 
licensure through regulation and requires the regulation to contain specified 
criteria listed in subdivisions (b)(1)-(1)(4).  This definition implements, interprets, 
or makes specific the provisions of BPC 464(b)(2), which provides: “[t]he holder of 
a retired license issued pursuant to this section shall not engage in any activity for 
which a license is required, ….” This provision is therefore necessary to 
implement the requirement that a holder of a required license shall not engage in 
any activity for which a license is required because the Legislature determined 
that this provision should be included in the Board’s regulation. The Board adds 
the word “active” before “license” to make it easier for the regulated community to 
understand when an activity would be prohibited. An active current license is 
required to practice physical therapy, as defined in BPC section 2620, pursuant to 
BPC section 2630. 

(7) Add new subsection (f): BPC section 464(b)(5) requires the Board to establish the 
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following eligibility criteria for restoring a retired license to active status, including: 

(A) Pay a fee established by statute or regulation. 

(B) Certify, in a manner satisfactory to the board, that he or she has not 
committed an act or crime constituting grounds for denial of licensure. 

(C) Comply with the fingerprint submission requirements established by 
regulation. 

(D) If the board requires completion of continuing education for renewal of an 
active license, complete continuing education equivalent to that required for 
renewal of an active license, unless a different requirement is specified by the 
board. 

(E) Complete any other requirements as specified by the board by regulation. 

This proposal establishes eligibility to restore a retired license to active status 
pursuant to the authority in BPC section 464(b)(5). This proposal would set forth 
the minimum eligibility requirements for a retired licensee to safely and 
competently return to active practice. 

As further described below, subsections (f)(1)-(f)(4) would establish criteria for 
restoration of an active license within five years of being issued a retired license. 
Under the provisions of BPC section 2649, a “person who fails to renew his or her 
license within five years after its expiration may not renew it, and it shall not be 
reissued, reinstated, or restored thereafter.” In recognition of that limitation, the 
Board proposes to treat retired licenses as expired licenses for the purposes of 
setting criteria for restoring a license. This interpretation balances the need to 
allow retired licensees the option of returning to practice when they have currency 
of knowledge (within 5 years after retiring) and have less stringent restoration 
criteria, with the need to protect the public from incompetent practitioners.  

Subsection (g) would set forth the requirement for licensees who have been 
retired for more than 5 years.  For retired licensees seeking to restore to active 
status after being in retired status for more than five years, the Board provides the 
option of re-application in accordance with BPC section 2647 (which is the same 
process for applicants who have lapsed or expired for more than 5 years). 

(8) Add new subsection (f)(1); This proposal requires an applicant to complete and 
submit the “Application to Restore Retired License to Active Status (RS2 (New 
09/2021))” when seeking to return to active status from retired status within 5 
years of being issued a retired license. The form is incorporated into regulation by 
reference and solicits personal information and an attestation regarding conviction 
of a crime or discipline by a disciplinary body, which is consistent with the 
requirements for license renewal pursuant to BPC section 2644. Applications on a 
prescribed form are consistent with the Board’s administrative practices and the 
application’s consolidation of requirements into one convenient format enable the 
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Board to more easily determine whether all minimum criteria for restoration to an 
active license are met. 

(9) Add Form RS2 (New 9/2021) in subsection (f)(1); This proposed incorporated form 
is for ensuring all criteria is met for return to practice and to provide applicants with 
notice of the eligibility requirements in one convenient location. 

Introduction and instructions to applicants: 

(a) The form instructs the applicant that to restore their retired license to active 
within five years of their retired license being issued, complete this form and 
submitted to the board at the address above by mail with a check or money order 
for the renewal fee made payable to the physical therapy board of California for 
$300. This instruction is necessary to provide adequate notice to applicants of the 
minimum requirements for an applicant’s submission of an application and to help 
ensure that the Board receives completed applications. 

(b) The form instructs applicants that failure to provide any requested information 
may prevent or significantly delay the processing of their request. This instruction is 
necessary to put applicants on notice that any information that is missing from the 
application may delay significantly the processing of their application and is 
provided in accordance with the Information Practices Act requirements of Civil 
Code section 1798.17(e) (provide on each form “the consequences, if any, of not 
providing all or any part of the requested information”.) 

(c) This form instructs applicants that they can verify their updated license status on 
the Board's website under “Verify a License.” This instruction is necessary to 
provide applicants with notice of a simple straightforward method (via the Board’s 
website) of confirming any changes to their license status. 

(d) This form advises applicants that they are not authorized to practice as a 
physical therapist or physical therapist assistant until their license has been restored 
to active status. This instruction is necessary to help alleviate possible confusion 
regarding when a licensee may again actively practice, and places licensees on 
notice of the compliance requirements of BPC section 464 which prohibits such 
practice while retaining a retired license. This will help ensure compliance and avoid 
possible disciplinary action of a retired license for failure to comply. 

(e) This form instructs applicants that they may refer to section 1399.18 of Title 16 
of the California Code of Regulations for full information on requirements for 
restoring a retired license to active. This instruction is necessary to advise 
applicants where they may consult the actual rules related to license restoration 
requirements with the goal of having a more fully informed and compliant licensee. 

This proposed incorporated form requires in Section A an applicant to list their 
license type, number, name, date of birth, work and daytime phone, email address, 
address of record, confidential street address, and last four digits of their social 
security number. This allows staff to match the applicant to the licensee on file, in 
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accordance with subsection (d)(3), and provides necessary current contact 
information should any questions arise. The explanation of the address of record 
collection is to put applicants on notice that this information is the current publicly 
available address and address the Board will use to mail information. To ensure the 
ability of the Board to serve legal process (subpoenas and other legal documents), 
the Board requires the disclosure of a confidential street address if the mailing 
address used by the applicant is a P.O. Box. 

Sections B and C are consistent with current requirements for renewal of a license 
pursuant to BPC 2644. In the Board’s experience, such questions are necessary to 
ensure that a licensee is safe to return to practice as any affirmative answers in 
Section B or negative answers or deficiencies in Section C could indicate a risk to 
the public and render applicants ineligible. 

Section B Question No.1: This section would request that an applicant disclose 
whether they have they had any license disciplined by a licensing board in or 
outside of California, a state, or agency of the federal government since they placed 
their license in retired status. This question is necessary to examine whether there 
are any grounds for denial authorized by BPC sections 480(a)(2) and 2660(o) which 
authorize the Board to deny an application when disciplinary action is taken by 
another licensing board in or outside of California, by another state, or by an agency 
of the federal government. The Board requests current information to evaluate 
whether any cause arose after issuance of the retired license, which would have 
been the last time the Board would have investigated or evaluated whether any 
disciplinary actions or “reasons” existed (see proposed subsection 1399.18(a), 
(d)(4)). 

The question includes a definition for “disciplined” which the Board has defined as 
meaning revoked, suspended, placed on probation, reproved, reprimanded, or 
otherwise restricted from practicing physical therapy or another business or 
profession. BPC section 2660 authorizes Board to take various disciplinary actions 
including revocation suspension and probation. BPC section 494 authorizes the 
Board to publicly reprove a licensee and BPC section 2660.3 authorizes the Board 
to publicly reprimand a licensee.  These are recognized disciplinary actions and the 
Board provides these clarifying terms to help explain what it considers “disciplinary” 
for purposes of disclosure for this question. Providing this clarifying definition will 
help ensure applicants are fully informed regarding what information should be 
provided in response to this question with the goal of receiving more accurate and 
complete information regarding a licensee’s fitness to return to practice. 

To assist the Board in facilitating a more expedient review and investigation of the 
applicant’s qualifications, the Board requires the applicant to provide details 
regarding the disciplinary action if the applicant answers this question in the 
affirmative.  This includes copies of the disciplinary order and any documentation of 
rehabilitation to the Board and a list of the states in which the license was 
disciplined.  This information is necessary for the Board to determine whether 
further confirmation and investigation from the state board or agency is required, 
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and/or the misconduct was substantially related to the practice of physical therapy 
as provided in BPC section 2660 and the Board’s regulations at 16 CCR section 
1399.20 (Board’s substantial relationship criteria). 

Section B Question No.2: The next question in section B relates to conviction 
disclosures and asks whether the applicant has been convicted of or pled guilty or 
no contest to any felony misdemeanor or other criminal offence under the laws of 
any state, the United States, or a foreign country, including any conviction which 
has been dismissed under section 1203.4 of the Penal Code. BPC section 2660(e) 
and (f) permit the Board to deny an application based upon a criminal conviction, 
including, “conviction of a crime that substantially relates to the qualifications, 
functions, or duties of a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant. The record 
of conviction or a certified copy thereof shall be conclusive evidence of that 
conviction.” (Subd.(e) of BPC section 2660.) 

BPC section 2661 defines a conviction as: 

A plea or verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere is 
deemed to be a conviction within the meaning of this article. The board may 
order discipline of the licensee in accordance with Section 2660 or the board may 
take action as authorized in Section 2660.2 on an application when the time for 
appeal has elapsed, or the judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal 
or when an order granting probation is made suspending the imposition of 
sentence, irrespective of a subsequent order under Section 1203.4 of the Penal 
Code allowing that person to withdraw his or her plea of guilty and to enter a plea 
of not guilty, or setting aside the verdict of guilty, or dismissing the accusation, 
information, or indictment. 

To conduct a full and complete review of the applicant’s criminal history and in order 
to help confirm whether the Board has cause to deny the license based upon the 
aforementioned authority in BPC section 2660, the Board must ask the question on 
the application.  Asking the question helps ensure a complete review as, in the 
Board’s experience, some convictions that are self-reported are not always reported 
in the criminal offender record information provided by the Department of Justice. 

To assist the Board in facilitating a more expedient review and investigation of the 
applicant’s qualifications, the Board requires the applicant to provide details 
regarding any conviction if the applicant answers this question in the affirmative. 
This includes certified true copies of the court or arrest records for each criminal 
offense.  This information is necessary for the Board to determine whether further 
confirmation and investigation is required, and/or the conviction was substantially 
related to the practice of physical therapy as provided in BPC section 2660 and the 
Board’s regulations at 16 CCR section 1399.20 (Board’s substantial relationship 
criteria). 

Finally, the form instructs applicants to mail all documents within 30 days of the date 
they submitted their application to the Board's physical address. Pursuant to 16 
CCR 1398.21, the Board may deny without prejudice any application when, in the 
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discretion of the Board, an applicant does not exercise due diligence in the 
completion of his or her application in furnishing additional information or documents 
requested. In the Board’s opinion, 30 days has been a reasonable amount of time 
for applicants to provide this type of information and show due diligence in 
completion of the application. This also ensures sufficient notice to applicants and 
more efficient processing of applications for those individuals who may wish to 
return to active practice. 

In the Board’s experience, restoring a person to practice without a thorough review 
of the licensee’s background presents a substantial risk of harm to the public. 
Therefore, this additional criminal background question helps protect the public. 

Section C: Continuing Competency Requirements 
Proposed section 1399.18(f)(3) requires an applicant to have completed a minimum 
of 30 hours of continuing competency within the last two years prior to applying to 
restore the license to active status in compliance with Article 13 (commencing with 
section 1399.90).  This section is therefore necessary to provide notice to applicants 
informing them of this requirement. The form also informs applicants that they do 
not need to submit proof of completion of these requirements with this request but 
rather to retain proof of completion for their records and provide to the Board only if 
requested. As the Board requires certification that these requirements have been 
completed on this form, there is no need for applicants to provide proof unless 
audited or investigated by the Board. 

As noted above, this form notifies applicants that by signing below they certify that 
they have completed at least 30 hours of Board's continuing competency 
requirements within the last two years.  This is consistent with the Board’s current 
competency requirements at Article 13 and provides a simple, straightforward 
method for the Board to confirm compliance with this requirement and help ensure 
continued competency upon restoration of the license to active status. 

Section D: Declaration (See Attachment A before Signing): In Section D, applicants 
declare under penalty of perjury that the information is true and correct. Certification 
under penalty of perjury helps to ensure that the documentation contains truthful, 
factual representations made in good faith. (See e.g., In re Marriage of Reese & 
Guy (1999) 73 Cal.App.4th 1214, 1223 [judicial explanation for the use of 
certifications].) The Board relies upon applicants’ self-reported information in 
evaluating applications. The Board adds an additional notification that by signing 
below the applicant is requesting restoration of my retired license to active license 
status. This helps avoid confusion regarding the purpose of this application and 
confirms the licensee’s intention to seek an active license status. 

Finally, the application form includes the required notices and disclosures to the 
applicant for the Board’s collection of personal information in compliance with Civil 
Code section 1798.17 (which applicants are directed to read in Attachment A prior 
to signing the application in Section D). 

(10) Add new subsection (f)(2); This proposal requires the payment of the biennial 
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review fee as set forth in CCR 1399.50 or 1399.52, as applicable. This fee is 
discussed below. This is necessary to implement the requirements for this 
regulation as set forth in BPC section 464(a)(5)(A), which requires payment of a 
fee set by regulation to restore to an active status. 

(11) Add new subsection (f)(3); This proposal requires the completion of thirty (30) 
hours of continuing competency within the two years prior to submitting an 
application to restore the license to active status. This is to conform with the 
requirements for renewal as set forth in BPC section 2649 and Article 13 of the 
Board’s regulations. (commencing with section 1399.90). This helps provide the 
Board and the public with some assurances of continuing competency before 
returning a licensee to active practice after being retired. 

(12) Add new subsection (f)(4); This proposal requires an applicant to submit 
electronic fingerprints if a record does not exist in the Department of Justice’s 
criminal offender identification data base and would be provided at the request of 
the Board pursuant to the requirements set forth in BPC section 144. Many 
retired licensees would have already been fingerprinted pursuant to section 144 
prior to being placed in a retired status.  Those licenses would be subject to 
restoration per BPC 2646, which allows renewal of any license within 5 years after 
expiration (similar status to those that would be retired since they are not 
renewable while in that status) and therefore the Board would still receive criminal 
record information (CORI) within 5 years after the license was placed in retired 
status (Penal Code section 11105.2 requires the Board to notify the Department 
of Justice when the license can no longer be reinstated).  However, in the event 
that the Board somehow did not have CORI notifications for the particular 
individual, and it was discovered upon filing this application, this proposal would 
require the individual to provide fingerprints as an “applicant” for restoration to 
active license in accordance with the requirements in BPC section 144 upon 
written request of the Board. This helps ensure compliance with section 144 that 
requires the Board to fingerprint every “applicant” and also to ensure that there 
are no grounds for denial of the application based upon criminal convictions (as 
discussed above) per BPC section 2660. 

(13) Add new subsection (g); BPC section 464 sets forth minimum requirements for 
the Board’s regulation for allowing restoration to active status but does not 
mention a time frame for when restoration is not permissible.  BPC 2647 prohibits 
the Board from reinstating or restoring a license to active status within 5 years 
after its expiration. To resolve the possible ambiguity between the two statutes, 
the Board proposes to implement the requirements by treating the retired licensee 
applicant whose original license expired more than 5 years prior to application for 
restoration as a new applicant according to the authority in BPC section 2647.This 
proposal would therefore allow a licensee who has been in retired status for more 
than five years to obtain an active license by applying for a new license in 
accordance with BPC section 2647 (which specifies the process for applying for a 
new license). This helps ensure consistency in treatment of all expired licensees, 
including those whose licenses have expired for reasons other than holding a 
retired license for more than 5 years. 

Physical Therapy Board Initial Statement of Reasons Page 14 of 18 
16 CCR 1399.18, 1399.50, and 1399.52 Retired License and Fees 4/20/22 



 

      
    

 

 
 

    
 

  
   

 
   

    
 

  
  

 
  

   
   

 
  

 
  

    
     
    

 
    

   
 

  
  

 
  
    

  
     

 
 

 
   

  
      

  
 

 
 

   
 

     
  

Sections 1399.50 and 1399.52 - Fees 

(1) Amend subsection (f) of 1399.50; This proposal sets the retired license 
application fee for physical therapists at $100. 

(2) Amend subsection (e) of 1399.52; This proposal sets the retired license 
application fee for physical therapist assistants at $100. 

The determination of the amount of these fees is reasonable to recover the Board’s 
costs to process these applications and to set the fee (as explained in the Business 
Impact estimate) as supported by the comprehensive fiscal analysis in the Fiscal Impact 
Assessment, below. As explained above, these fees are necessary because the 
Legislature determined pursuant to the provisions in BPC section 464 that applicants 
must pay a fee to obtain a retired license or restore a license to active status. 

Incorporation of Document by Reference 

As described above, the Board wishes to incorporate by reference two forms identified 
as “Application for Retired License (RS1 (New 09/2021)),” and “Application to Restore 
Retired License to Active Status (RS2 (New 09/2021)).” The incorporation by reference 
method is being used because it would be impractical to publish the form in the 
California Code of Regulations, which is published in multiple formats, from small 
booklets to online text, usually in black and white. The rationale for inclusion of both 
forms in this regulation may be found above. 

Underlying Data / Technical, theoretical or empirical studies, reports, or documents 
relied upon 

1. Assembly Floor Analysis of AB 2859, 8/24/16 
2. Agenda, board meeting materials, and minutes of the Physical Therapy Board of 

California’s September 17, 2021 meeting. 
3. Retired License Workload Table- Office Technician 

Business Impact 

This regulation will not have a significant, statewide adverse economic impact directly 
affecting business, including the ability of California businesses to compete with 
businesses in other states. This initial determination is based on the following facts: this 
proposed regulation establishes placement of a license in a retired status for a licensee 
who is not actively engaged in the practice of physical therapy or any activity that 
requires them to be licensed by the Board. Since licensees can currently choose to go 
inactive, or allow their licenses to lapse or cancel when they retire, there would be no 
effect on businesses when an individual opts to change their license title to “retired.”  

Licensees will have the option to apply for a retired license for a one-time fee of $100. 
The Board anticipates demand for the new retired status license type to be greatest in 
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the first two years of implementation as inactive and active licensees opt to retire and 
apply for the new status with lower demand annually thereafter. 

The Board anticipates approximately 1,064 licensees apply for the retire license status 
in the first two years of implementation and 689 licensees per year thereafter, which 
results in an economic impact of $106,400 per year in the first two years of 
implementation, $68,900 per year thereafter, and up to $764,000 over a ten-year period 
as follows: 

Economic Impact Assessment 

This regulatory proposal will have the following effects: 

It will not create or eliminate jobs within the State of California nor create new business 
or eliminate existing businesses within the State of California nor affect the expansion of 
businesses currently doing business within the State of California because this 
proposed regulation simply affords licensees already retired from working as a physical 
therapist or a physical therapist assistant, the opportunity to place a license in a retired 
status. Since licensees currently choose to go inactive, or allow their licenses to lapse 
or cancel when they retire, there would be no effect on the workforce related to a 
change in license status nor an effect on new business or existing businesses or the 
expansion of businesses. 

This regulatory proposal will benefit the health and welfare of California residents 
because consumers searching for a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant will 
find the license status to accurately reflect “retired.” This would indicate the licensee is 
no longer authorized to practice and would alleviate confusion regarding the true status 
of a licensee who does not choose to abandon their license but rather simply retire from 
practice. It would also benefit a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 
has retired for less than five years and wishes to return to practice by giving them a 
process to do so. Currently, licensees who no longer wish to practice must either utilize 
the inactive status pursuant to CCR 1399.98 and pay the biennial renewal fee of $300 
or choose not to renew in inactive status, let their license expire into delinquent status, 
and cancel after five years. This process relieves the financial burden of having to 
remain in active status and provides easy access to return to active status if desired. 

This regulatory proposal will not affect worker safety or the state’s environment because 
this proposed regulation does not involve worker safety or environmental issues. 

Fiscal Impact Assessment 
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The Board anticipates demand for the new retired status license type to be greatest in 
the first two years of implementation as inactive and active licensees opt to retire and 
apply for the new status with lower demand annually thereafter. The Board anticipates 
approximately 1,064 licensees apply for the retired license in the first two years of 
implementation and 689 licensees per year thereafter. 

The Board indicates an Office Technician will take approximately 95 minutes to process 
each application with workload costs of $101 per application, which results in costs 
ranging from $69,589 to $107,464 per year and up to $771,640 over a ten-year period 
as follows: 

The Board estimates retired license fee revenues of approximately $106,400 per year in 
the first two years of implementation, $68,900 per year thereafter, and up to $764,000 
over a ten-year period as follows: 

This regulatory proposal does not impact any costs or savings in federal funding to the 
state. 

Specific Technologies or Equipment 

This regulation does not mandate the use of specific technologies or equipment. 

Consideration of Alternatives 

No reasonable alternative to the regulatory proposal would be either more effective in 
carrying out the purpose for which the action is proposed or would be as effective or 
less burdensome to affected private persons and equally effective in achieving the 
purposes of the regulation in a manner that ensures full compliance with the law being 
implemented or made specific. 

Set forth, below, are the proposed alternatives considered and the reasons each 
alternative was rejected: 

1. Not amend the regulation: This alternative was rejected because the Board 
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needs to define a system to place a licensee in retired status for the reasons 
listed above in this document. 

2. Adopt and amend regulations: The Board determined that this alternative is the 
most feasible because it establishes a regulation, including a simplified 
application process, for the placement of a license in a retired status in 
compliance with the requirements set forth in BPC section 464. 
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Underlying Data / Technical, 
theoretical or empirical studies, 
reports, or documents relied upon 

1. Assembly Floor Analysis of 
AB 2859, 8/24/16 

2. Agenda, board meeting materials, 
and minutes of the Physical 
Therapy Board of California’s 
September 17, 2021 meeting. 

3. Retired License Workload Table- 
Office Technician 



  
  

 

Underlying Data / Technical, 
theoretical or empirical studies, 
reports, or documents relied upon 

1. Assembly Floor Analysis of 
AB 2859, 8/24/16 
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AB 2859 

Page 1 

CONCURRENCE IN SENATE AMENDMENTS 

AB 
2859 (Low) 

As Amended August 3, 2016 

Majority vote 

|ASSEMBLY: |79-0  |(May 5, 2016) |SENATE: |39-0  |(August 23, 
| 

| | | | | |2016) 
| 

| | | | | | 
| 

| | | | | | 
| 

Original Committee Reference: B. & P. 

SUMMARY: Authorizes any of the boards, within the Department of 
Consumer Affairs (DCA) to establish, by regulation, a system for  
a retired category of licensure for persons not actively engaged 
in the practice of their profession, as specified. 

The Senate amendments specify that a retired license can only be 
issued to an individual with an active or inactive license that 
was not placed on inactive status for disciplinary reasons, 
authorize boards to establish an appropriate fee for a retired 
license, specify that boards with existing authority to 
establish a retried license are not subject to specified 
provisions, and make other minor and technical clarifying 
changes. 

FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Appropriations 



           
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
                                                                     
 
 
                                                                     
 
 
           
           
           
           
 
 
           
             
 
 
           
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
 
 
           
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
             
 
 

Committee, there are 25 boards, bureaus, and other licensing 

AB 2859 

Page 2 

entities within the Department of Consumer Affairs that 
currently do not have a retired license category. For any of 
those entities that chose to create a retired license category,  
the following costs are likely to occur: 

1)Minor one-time costs to adopt regulations establishing a  
retired license category (various special funds). 

2)One-time costs between $15,000 and $75,000 to make changes to  
the licensing system to accommodate a new retired license 
category (various special funds). The potential cost to 
update information technology systems used to process license  
applications and renewals will depend both on the size of the 
board's license population and whether or not the board is 
using the BreEze licensing system or an internal licensing  
system. 

3)Minor revenue losses due to individuals with active licenses 
shifting to a retired license (various special funds). 
Currently, there are indications that individual licensees who 
are effectively retired continue to renew their active license 
because shifting to an inactive license or allowing their 
active license to lapse implies that the licensee may have 
been subject to some kind of disciplinary action. Therefore, 
there are likely to be licensees who give up their active 
license (which requires a biennial renewal with a fee) and 
apply for a retired license (which is likely to be accompanied 
by a one-time fee).  There are 15 boards within the Department 
of Consumer Affairs that currently have a retired license 
category. The ratio of retired licensees to active licensees 
for those boards is small (typically less than 1%).  Therefore 
it is likely that the number of licensees who would give up an 
active license for a retired license would be fairly small as 
would be any resulting revenue loss. There would also be some 
revenue loss from individuals giving up an inactive license 
(who are not inactive due to disciplinary action) in exchange 
for a retired license. 
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To the extent that licensees shift to a retired license that 
does not require renewal and are not engaged in the practice 
of their profession, the impacted board is likely to see a 
commensurate reduction in licensing and enforcement activity. 

COMMENTS: 

Purpose. This bill authorizes any of the boards under the DCA 
to establish, through regulations, a system to allow for a 
retired license category for those licensees who no longer wish 
to practice their profession or vocation but who do not want 
their license to become "inactive". This bill is sponsored by 
the author. According to the author, "[this bill] allows any of  
the boards, bureaus, commissions, or programs within the [DCA] 
to establish a system for a retired category of licensure for 
those not actively in [the] practice of their profession. 

An occupational license can be sent to 'inactive' for various 
reasons, including violations and non-renewal.  The same is done 
for those individuals who decided to retire - a troublesome 
label, as an 'inactive' status holds negative connotations and  
does not appropriately illustrate the decades of service from 
the license holder. To that end, this bill acts as a practical 
means to bring uniformity to licensing at the DCA." 

Background. Existing law permits the boards under the DCA to 
adopt regulations to establish a system for issuing inactive 
licenses. The law requires that those regulations cover fees, 
renewal, restoration to active status, and practice 
restrictions. 

There are two differences to the laws permitting regulations for 
inactive licenses for non-healing arts boards and healing arts  
boards: 1) non-healing arts boards are permitted to reduce the  
fees for renewal and change the continuing education 
requirements, while the healing arts boards are not; and, 2) the 
restoration fee is waived for a physician and surgeon that 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
                                                                     
 
 
                                                                     
 
 
           
           
 
 
           
           
           
           
           
           
           
           
 
 
           
           
 
 
           
 
 
           
 
 
           
 
 
           
 
 
           
 
 
           
 
 
           
 
 
           
 
 
 
 

AB 2859 

Page 4 

certifies he or she is restoring the inactive license to an 
active license solely for volunteer purposes. 

Retired Licenses. According to the author, some licensees 
disfavor an "inactive" license designation and would prefer a  
retired license designation. Because existing law only provides 
for a system of inactive licenses, many boards have sought 
legislation specific to their licensees that would permit them 
to also create a retired license category.  Prior bills have 
included conditions for volunteering, enforcement of retired 
licenses, and fees. 

Thirteen other healing arts and non-healing arts boards have the  
authority to issue retired licensees, including: 

1)Board of Accountancy 

2)Architects Board 

3)Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 

4)Board of Behavioral Sciences 

5)Dental Board 

6)Dental Hygiene Committee of California 

7)Landscape Architects Technical Committee 

8)Medical Board 
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9)Board of Pharmacy 

10)Board of Podiatric Medicine 

11)Professional Fiduciaries Bureau 

12)Board for Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and 
Geologists 

13)Respiratory Care Board 

This bill will provide the remaining boards with the authority 
to establish a system of retired licenses if they desire to. 
This bill does not require boards to offer a retired license. 

BreEZe. The "BreEZe Project" was designed to provide the DCA  
boards with a new enterprise-wide enforcement and licensing  
system. The updated BreEZe system was engineered to replace 
outdated legacy systems and multiple "work around" systems with 
an integrated solution based on updated technology. BreEZe 
enables consumers to verify a professional license and file a 
consumer complaint. Licensees and applicants can submit license 
applications, renew a license and change their address among  
other services. The initial BreEZe project was to be 
implemented in three separate phases. Release one was launched 
in October of 2013, and included 10 boards. Release two was 
launched in January of 2016 and included eight boards. The 
remaining boards will be in a final release in which the vendor 
and the release date have not been identified. Consumers can 
verify licensure status through the BreEZe system. 

A substantially similar version of this bill was introduced in 
2015. AB 750 (Low) of 2015, passed the Assembly Committee on 
Business and Professions (14 Ayes - 0 Noes) on April 14, 2015, 
but was subsequently held in the Assembly Committee on 



 
 
 
 
 
                                                                     
 
 
                                                                     
 
 
           
           
           
           
           
            
           
           
           
           
           
           
 
 
           
           
           
           
           
           
 
 
           
                           
           
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
                             

AB 2859 

Page 6 

Appropriations. The Appropriations Committee analysis noted 
potential delays and costs associated with the Release two of 
the BreEZe project. That analysis noted "[o]ne-time major state  
costs, likely in the millions of dollars, resulting from 
contract delays for Release two boards and bureaus if this bill 
is implemented prior to January 1, 2017. At this stage of the 
implementation, DCA would likely have to renegotiate the vendor 
contract and likely trigger a Special Project Report resulting 
in project delays. Currently, project delay costs are $1.25 
million per month for the vendor contract and an additional 
$500,000 per month in additional state costs associated with the 
project." 

It is unknown if similar costs or the issues cited prior to the 
implementation of Release two will impact any boards' ability to 
offer a retired license status. This bill does not require a 
board to establish a retired license, but simply authorizes a 
board to establish, through regulation, a process to offer a 
retired status license. 

Analysis Prepared by: 
Elissa Silva / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301  FN: 

0003868 



  
  

 

  
 

 
 

 

Underlying Data / Technical, 
theoretical or empirical studies, 
reports, or documents relied upon 

2. Agenda, board meeting materials, 
and minutes of the 
Physical Therapy Board of 
California’s 
September 17, 2021 meeting. 







 

   

   
    

  

    
    

  
   

  

    
    

  
  

     
  

   
  

  
  

     
   

  
  

  
 

 
    

 

BOARD MEETING AGENDA 

PUBLIC TELECONFERENCE MEETING 

Thursday, September 16, 2021 

NOTE: Pursuant to the provisions of Governor Gavin Newsom’s 
Executive Order N-08-21, dated June 11, 2021,a physical meeting 
location is not being provided. 

Important Notices to the Public: The Physical Therapy Board will 
hold a public meeting via a teleconference platform. 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PARTICIPATION: Please see the instructions 
attached hereto to observe and participate in the meeting using 
WebEx from a Microsoft Windows-based PC. 

Members of the public may but are not obligated to provide their 
names or personal information as a condition of observing or 
participating in the meeting. When signing into the WebEx platform, 
participants may be asked for their name and email address. 
Participants who choose not to provide their names will be required to 
provide a unique identifier such as their initials or another alternative, 

so that the meeting moderator can identify individuals who wish to 
make public comment; participants who choose not to provide their 
email address may utilize a fictitious email address in the following 
sample format: XXXXX@mailinator.com. 

For all those who wish to participate or observe the meeting on 
Thursday, September 16, 2021, attendees will need to click the 
following link and enter their first name, last name, email, and the 
event password listed below: 

If joining by computer: 
Event address for attendees: https://dca-meetings.webex.com/dca-
meetings/j.php?MTID=mb130a005b06b27378b2c3667de64295c 
Event number: 146 003 8724 
Event password: PTB09162021 

https://dca-meetings.webex.com/dca-meetings/j.php?MTID=mb130a005b06b27378b2c3667de64295c
https://dca-meetings.webex.com/dca-meetings/j.php?MTID=mb130a005b06b27378b2c3667de64295c
https://dca-meetings.webex.com/dca-meetings/j.php?MTID=mb130a005b06b27378b2c3667de64295c
https://dca-meetings.webex.com/dca-meetings/j.php?MTID=mb130a005b06b27378b2c3667de64295c
mailto:XXXXX@mailinator.com


   
   

   
 

     
    

     
  

 
    

     
   

     

   
 

  

  

    

 
  
 

  
 

 

If joining by audio conference (phone): 
Call, +1-415-655-0001 (US toll) 
Enter Access code: 146 003 8724, followed by # 
Enter password: 78209162, followed by # 

As an alternative, members of the public who wish to observe the 
meeting on September 16, 2021 without making public comment can 
do so (provided no unforeseen technical difficulties) at: 
https://thedcapage.wordpress.com/webcasts/ 

Public comments will be limited to two minutes unless, in the 
discretion of the Board, circumstances require a shorter period. 
Members of the public will not be permitted to “yield” their allotted 
time to other members of the public to make comments. 

Agenda – Thursday, September 16th 

Action may be taken on any agenda item. Agenda items make be taken out of 
order. 

1. Call to Order - 9:00 a.m. 

2. Roll Call and Establishment of Quorum 

3. Reading of the Board’s Mission Statement 

4. Public Comment on Items Not on the Agenda 
Please note that the Board may not discuss or take action on any matter 
raised during this public comment section that is not included on this 
agenda, except to decide whether to place the matter on the agenda of a 
future meeting. (Government Code sections 11125, 11125.7(a).) 

5. Review and Approval of June 24, 2021, Meeting Minutes – Brooke 
Arneson 

6. President’s Report –Alicia Rabena-Amen 
(A) 2021 Adopted Meeting Calendar 
(B) 2022 Proposed Meeting Calendar 

7. Executive Officer’s Report – Jason Kaiser 
(A) Administrative Services 

i. Staffing 
(B) Applications 

https://thedcapage.wordpress.com/webcasts


 
 
 

  

  
  

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
 

  
 

 
  

 
 

 
 

 
 

   
  

  

 
 

 
 

  
 

  

  

(C)Licensing/Continuing Competency 
(D)Consumer Protection Services 
(E) Outreach 
(F) PTBC Relocation 

8. Division of Investigation Updates and Processes – Emily Kendrick, 
Northern Area Commander and Laura Sweet, Specialist, Division of 
Investigation 

9. Discussion Regarding Waivers Issued by the Director of the 
California Department of Consumer Affairs – Jason Kaiser 

(A) DCA Waiver DCA-20-01 Continuing Education 
a. First Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-27 
b. Second Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-53 
c. Third Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-69 
d. Fourth Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-89 
e. Fifth Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-117 
f. Sixth Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-134 
g. Seventh Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-152 
h. Eighth Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-175 

(B) DCA Waiver DCA-20-02 Reinstatement of Licensure 
a. First Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-57 
b. Second Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-187 

(C)DCA Waiver DCA-20-09 Examination Requirement for Continued 
Physical Therapy Treatment 

a. First Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-28 
b. Second Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-46 
c. Third Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-75 
d. Fourth Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-95 
e. Fifth Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-122 
f. Sixth Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-148 
g. Seventh Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-169 
h. Eighth Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-189 

(D)DCA Waiver DCA-20-25 Extending Time to Satisfy Examination 
Requirements 

a. First Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-66 
b. Second Extension DCA Waiver DCA-20-78 
c. Third Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-107 
d. Fourth Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-131 
e. Fifth Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-155 
f. Sixth Extension DCA Waiver DCA-21-177 

10.Consumer and Professional Associations and Intergovernmental 
Relations Reports 

(A) Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) 
(B) Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) – Executive Office 
(C) California Physical Therapy Association (CPTA) 

https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/continuing_ed.pdf
https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/continuing_ed.pdf
https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/reinstate_licensure.pdf
https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/reinstate_licensure.pdf
https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/examination_requirement_continued_physical_therapy.pdf
https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/examination_requirement_continued_physical_therapy.pdf
https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/examination_requirement_continued_physical_therapy.pdf
https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/examination_requirement_continued_physical_therapy.pdf


   
  

 

 

 
   

  

   
   

 

 

   

  

  

   

 

 

  

  

  

11.Legislation Report – Brooke Arneson 
(A) 2021/22 Legislative Session Summary 

i. AB 105 (Holden) The Upward Mobility Act of 2021: Boards 
and Commissions: Civil Service: Examinations: 
Classifications 

ii. AB 107 (Salas) Licensure: Veterans and Military Spouses 
iii. AB 225 (Gray, Gallagher, & Patterson) DCA: Boards: 

Veterans: Military Spouses: Licenses 
iv. AB 305 (Maienschein) Veteran Services: Notice 
v. AB 339 (Lee & Christina Garcia) Local Government: Open 

and Public Meetings 
vi. AB 657 (Cooper) State Civil Service System: Personal 

Services Contracts: Professionals 
vii. AB 1273 (Rodriguez) Interagency Advisory Committee on 

Apprenticeship: The Director of Consumer Affairs and the 
State Public Health Officer 

viii. SB 250 (Pan) Health Care Coverage 
ix. SB 607 (Roth) Professions and Vocations 
x. SB 731 (Durazo and Bradford) Criminal Records: Relief 
xi. Discussion and Possible Board Action on AB 361 (Rivas) 

Open Meetings: State and Local Agencies: Teleconferences 

12.Rulemaking Report – Brooke Arneson 
(A) 2021 Rulemaking Update for Pending or Proposed Regulations 

(Title 16, California Code of Regulations (16 CCR)): 

i. Proposed Amendments to 16 CCR section 1399.15 – 
“Guidelines for Issuing Citations and Imposing Discipline,” 
6th Edition 

ii. Proposed Amendments to 16 CCR section 1398.26.1 --

Satisfactory Documentary Evidence of Equivalent Degree for 

Licensure as a Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist 

Assistant/Coursework Tool 

iii. Proposed Amendments to 16 CCR sections 1398.21, 

1398.21.1,1398.22, 1398.23, 1398.24,1398.25, 1398.26.5, 

1398.27, 1398.28, 1398.47, 1399.10, 1399.12 -- Clinical 

Service Requirements for Foreign Educated Applicants 

Completing a Supervised Clinical Practice in the United 

States 

iv. Proposed Amendments to 16 CCR 1399.20-1399.22 -- (AB 

2138 implementation) Substantial Relationship Criteria; 

Rehabilitation Criteria for Denial and Reinstatement of 

Licensure; and Rehabilitation Criteria for Suspensions and 

Revocations 

LAHHOGA
Highlight

https://1399.20-1399.22
https://1398.24,1398.25
https://1398.21.1,1398.22


   

 

   

  

  

    

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

v. Update Regarding the Development of a Possible Retired 

License Status Regulation and Fee 

vi. Update Regarding the Development of Possible 

Amendments to the Board’s Continuing Competency 

Regulations 

(B) Discussion and Possible Board Action regarding the Guidelines for 

Issuing Citations and Imposing Discipline, 6th Edition, 16 CCR 

section 1399.15 – Heather Hoganson, Regulatory Attorney, 

Department of Consumer Affairs 

(C)Discussion and Possible Board Action regarding License Renewal 

Exemption: Retired License Status regulation – Heather Hoganson, 

Regulatory Attorney, Department of Consumer Affairs 

i. Proposed Addition of regulation as 16 CCR section 

1399.14.1 or other placement as needed – Retired License 

Status 

ii. Proposed Amendments to 16 CCR section 1399.50 Physical 

Therapist Fees and CCR section 1399.52 Physical Therapist 

Assistant Fees regarding Establishing a Retired License 

Application Fee 

(D) Discussion and Possible Board Action Regarding Definitions 

and License Status Definitions, 16 CCR 1398.2 and 1398.3. 

13.Administrative Services Quarterly Update 

(A) Budget Report 

(B) Outreach Report 

14.Application Services Quarterly Update 
(A) Program Updates 

(B) Statistical Reports 

15.Licensing Services Quarterly Update 
(A) Program Updates 

(B) Statistical Reports 

16.Continuing Competency Services Quarterly Update 
(A) Program Updates 

(B) Statistical Reports 

17.Consumer Protection Services Quarterly Update 
(A) Program Updates 

(B) Statistical Reports 

LAHHOGA
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18.Probation Monitoring Services Quarterly Update 
(A) Program Updates 

(B) Statistical Reports 

19.Public Comment on Items Not on the Agenda 
Please note that the Board may not discuss or take action on any matter 
raised during this public comment section that is not included on this 
agenda, except to decide whether to place the matter on the agenda of a 
future meeting. (Government Code sections 11125, 11125.7(a).) 

20.Agenda Items for Future Meeting – December 9-10, 2021 
Department of Consumer Affairs 

21. Closed Session 
(A) Pursuant to Government Code section 11126(c)(3), the Board will 

convene to Deliberate on Disciplinary Actions and Decisions to be 
Reached in Administrative Procedure Act Proceedings 

(B) Pursuant to Government Code section 11126(a)(1), the Board will 
convene to Consider the Evaluation of Performance of the 
Executive Officer 

22.Adjournment 

Informational Notes: 

Action may be taken on any agenda item.  Agenda items may be taken out of 
order. Times stated are approximate and subject to change. Agenda order is 
tentative and subject to change at the discretion of the Board; agenda items may 
be taken out of order and items scheduled for a particular day may be moved or 
continued to an earlier or later day to facilitate the effective transaction of 
business. 

In accordance with the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act, all Board meetings are 
open to the public. Pursuant to Government Code section 11125.7, the Board 
provides the opportunity for the public to address each agenda item during 
discussion or consideration by the Board prior to the Board taking any action on 
said item. Total time allocated for public comment on particular issues may be 
limited. Individuals may appear before the Board to discuss items not on the 
agenda; however, the Board can neither discuss nor take official action on any 
matter not included in this agenda, except to decide to place the matter on the 
agenda of a future meeting. (Government Code sections 11125, 11125.7(a)). 

The Board plans to webcast this meeting on its website at www.ptbc.ca.gov. 
Webcast availability cannot, however, be guaranteed due to limited resources or 
technical difficulties. The meeting will not be cancelled if webcast is not available. 

www.ptbc.ca.gov


            
  

 

         
          
       

       
         

 
        

 

If you wish to participate or to have a guaranteed opportunity to observe, please 
plan to attend at a physical location.  Adjournment, if it is the only item that occurs 
after a closed session, may not be webcast. 

The meeting is accessible to the disabled. A person who needs disability-related 
accommodation or modification to participate in the meeting may make a request 
by contacting Brooke Arneson at (916) 561-8260, e-mail: 
brooke.arneson@dca.ca.gov, or send a written request to the Physical Therapy 
Board of California, 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350, Sacramento, CA 95815. 
Providing your request at least five (5) business days before the meeting will help 
to ensure availability of the requested accommodations. TDD Line: (916) 322-
1700. 

mailto:brooke.arneson@dca.ca.gov


    
     

  
   

  

  
  

  

           
  

 

  

      
              
            

   
         
             

  
           

  
   

   
   

 
   

   
 

  

 
 

   
 

   
 

     
   

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD 

PROPOSED REGULATORY LANGUAGE REGARDING RETIRED LICENSE STATUS 

Legend: Added text is indicated with an underline. 
Omitted text is indicated by (* * * *) 
Deleted text is indicated by strikeout. 

Add Article 1.5 and Section 1399.18 to Article 1.5 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the 
California Code of Regulations to read as follows: 

Article 1.5 License Status 

§ 1399.18. Retired License Status 

(a) For the purposes of this section,“disciplinary reasons” means that the applicant’s 
practice was restricted by order of the Board for violations of the Physical Therapy 
Practice Act, Physical Therapy Regulations, or Section 822 of the Code, including 
orders resulting from: 
(1) an accusation filed pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act (Government 
Code section 11550 et seq.) seeking to revoke, suspend or place the license on 
probation; or, 
(2) an interim suspension order filed pursuant to Section 494 of the Code. 

(b) A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant licensee (“applicant”) may apply 
for and, upon compliance with the requirements in subdivision (d), be issued a 
license by the Board in retired status (“retired license”). 

(c) A holder of a retired license is not required to renew that license or meet the 
continuing competency requirements of section 1399.91. 

(d) In order to be eligible for a retired license, an applicant shall: 
(1) Submit a completed form to the Board titled “Application for Retired License (RS 
(New 09/2021)),” which is hereby incorporated by reference; 
(2) Pay the nonrefundable retired license application fee as set forth in 1399.50 or 
1399.52, as applicable; 
(3) Have an active or inactive license issued by the Board, 
(4) Not have been placed on inactive status by the Board due to disciplinary 
reasons; and, 
(5) Not be actively engaged in practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant or engaged in any activity that requires them to be licensed by the Board. 

(e) A holder of a retired license issued pursuant to this section shall not engage in any 
activity for which an active license is required. 

(f) To be eligible to restore a retired license to active status within five years of being 
issued a retired license, an applicant shall: 

Physical Therapy Board Proposed Text Page 1 of 3 
16 CCR 1399.14.1, 1399.50, and 1399.52 Retired License Status Revised 9/9/21 



 

    
     

 

   
    

  
    

   
  

     
 

      
  

 
   

    
  

     
    

 
 

 
    

       
  

 

          
   

     
 

 
   

 
  

  
 

  
  

 
 

   
     

  
  

 
       

           

(1) Complete and submit a form to the Board titled “Application to Restore 
Retired License to Active Status (RS2 (New 09/2021))” which is hereby 
incorporated by reference; 

(2) Pay the nonrefundable biennial renewal fee for a physical therapist or 
physical therapist assistant, as applicable, and as set forth 1399.50 or 
1399.52, as applicable; 

(3) Have completed a minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing competency 
within the last two years prior to applying to restore the license to active 
status in compliance with Article 13 (commencing with Section 1399.90); and, 

(4) If an electronic record of the submission of fingerprints does not exist in the 
Department of Justice’s criminal offender identification database and on 
written request of the board, furnish to the Department of Justice a full set of 
fingerprints for the purposes of conducting criminal history record checks 
pursuant to Section 144 of the Code. 

(g) If a licensee who has been in retired status for more than five years seeks an active 
license, the individual may apply for a new license in accordance with Section 2647 of 
the Code. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 464 and 2615, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 118, 144, 464, 2647, 2649, 2660, and 2688, Business and 
Professions Code; Sections 11500 et seq., Government Code. 

Amend sections 1399.50 and 1399.52 of Article 10 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of 
the California Code of Regulations to read as follows: 

§ 1399.50. Physical Therapist Fees.
Pursuant to section 2688 of the code physical therapist fees are fixed as follows: 

(a) The application fee shall be $125.00. For applications electronically submitted or 
postmarked on or after January 1, 2016, the application fee shall be $300. 

(b) The application fee for foreign graduates under section 2653 of the code shall be 
$200.00. For applications electronically submitted or postmarked on or after 
January 1, 2016, the application fee for foreign graduates under section 2653 
shall be $300.00. 

(c) The initial license fee shall be $100.00. For those initial license fees electronically 
submitted or postmarked on or after January 1, 2016 the initial license fee shall 
be $150.00. 

(d) The biennial renewal fee shall be $200.00. For licenses that expire on or after 
January 1, 2016, the biennial renewal fee shall be $300.00. 

(e) The delinquency fee shall be $100.00. For those delinquent after January 1, 
2016 the delinquency fee shall be $150.00. 

(f) The retired license application fee shall be $100.00. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 2615, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 163.5, 464, 2644, and 2688, Business and Professions Code. 
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§ 1399.52. Physical Therapist Assistant Fees.
Pursuant to section 2688 of the code physical therapist assistant fees are fixed as 
follows: 

(a) The application and initial license fee shall be $125.00. For application and initial 
license fees electronically submitted or postmarked on or after January 1, 2016, 
the application and initial license fee shall be $300.00. 

(b) The application and initial license fee for foreign graduates under section 2653 of 
the code shall be $200.00. For the application and initial license fee electronically 
submitted or postmarked on or after January 1, 2016, the application and initial 
license fee for foreign graduates under section 2653 shall be $300.00. 

(c) The biennial renewal fee shall be $200.00. For licenses that expire on or after 
January 1, 2016, the biennial renewal fee shall be $300.00. 

(d) The delinquency fee shall be $150.00. 
(e) The retired license application fee shall be $100.00. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 2615, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 163.5, 464, 2644, and 2688, Business and Professions Code. 
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DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
2005 Evergreen St., Suite 2600, Sacramento, CA 95815 
P (916) 561-8200 | F (916) 263-2560 | E pt@dca.ca.gov 
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Application for Retired License 

To be eligible for a retired license, you must have an active or inactive license issued by the Board, complete this form and submit it to 
the Board by mail to the above address with a check or money order payable to the Physical Therapy Board of California for $100. 
Failure to provideany requested information or fee may prevent, or significantly delay, the processing of your request. Upon approval, 
your current license will be replaced with a retired license. You can verify your updated license status on the PTBC's website under 
“Verify a License." Licensees who are inactive for disciplinary reasons do not qualify for a retired license. 

Licensees issued a retired license are prohibited from engaging in the practice of, or assisting in the provision of, physical therapy or 
physical therapy assistant services. Such licensees are exempt from the renewal fee and continuing competency requirements. For full 
information on retired license status requirements, refer to Section 1399.18 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR). 

SECTION A: Personal Information 

License Type: ☐ PT ☐ PTA 
License Number 

First Name Middle Name Last Name 

Last Four Digits of SSN Date of Birth 

Work Phone Daytime Phone Email Address 

*ADDRESS OF RECORD 
(include City, State, Zip): 

Confidential Street 
Address: 

*Current public/ mailing address.  If using a P.O. Box, you must also provide a confidential street address.  This address is 
displayed on the Board’s website. 

Section B: Qualification for Retired License Status 
Are you actively engaged in practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant or engaged in any activity 
that requires you to be licensed by the Board? 

 Yes  No 

SECTION C: Declaration (See Attachment A before signing) 
By signing below, I am requesting Retired License Status. I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the 
State of California that the information given above is true and correct, and that I am the person who was issued 
the license by the Physical Therapy Board of California. 

Signature: Date: 

RS (New 09/2021) 

mailto:pt@dca.ca.gov
http://www.ptbc.ca.gov/
https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/
https://twitter.com/ptbcnews


   

 

 

         
            

  
     

  
  

     
  

             
       

    
  

ATTACHMENT A 

PERSONAL INFORMATION COLLECTION NOTICE: 

The information provided in this form will be used by the Physical Therapy Board of California (“Board”) 
to process your request to change your license status to retired. Section 464 of the Business and 
Professions Code and Section 1399.18 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations authorizes the 
collection of this information. Failure to provide any of the required information (except the email address) 
is grounds for rejection of the form as being incomplete. Information provided may  be transferred to the 
Department of Justice, a District Attorney, a City Attorney, or to another government  agency as may be 
necessary to permit the Board, or the transferee agency, to perform its statutory or  constitutional duties, 
or otherwise transferred or disclosed as provided in Civil Code Section 1798.24.  Each individual has the 
right to review his or her file, except as otherwise provided by the Information Practices Act. The 
Custodian of Records of the  Board is responsible for maintaining the information in this form, and may 
be contacted at 2005 Evergreen St., Suite 2600, Sacramento, CA 95815, telephone number (916) 561-
8200, regarding questions about this notice or access to records. 

RS (New 09/2021) 
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Application to Restore Retired License to Active Status 

To restore your retired license to active within five years of your retired license being issued, complete this form and submit it to the Board at 
the address above by mail with a check or money order for the renewal fee made payable to the Physical Therapy Board of California for 
$300. 

Failure to provide any requested information may prevent or significantly delay the processing of your request. You can verify your updated 
license status on the PTBC's website under “Verify a License." You are not authorized to practice as a physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant until your license has been restored to active status. 

For full information on requirements to restore a retired license to active, refer to Section 1399.18 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations (CCR). 

SECTION A: Personal Information 

License Type: ☐ PT ☐ PTA 
License Number 

First Name Middle Name Last Name 

Last Four Digits of SSN Date of Birth 

Work Phone Daytime Phone Email Address 

*ADDRESS OF RECORD 
(include City, State, Zip): 

Confidential Street 
Address: 

*Current public/ mailing address.  If using a P.O. Box, you must also provide a confidential street address.  This address is 
displayed on the Board’s website. 

SECTION B: Mandatory Conviction and License Disciplined Disclosure Question 
1. Since you placed your license in Retired status, have you had any license disciplined by a licensing board in 

or outside of California, a state, or agency of the federal government? For the purposes of this question, 
“disciplined” means revoked, suspended, placed on probation, reproved, reprimanded, or otherwise 
restricted from practicing physical therapy or another business or profession. 

 *Yes  No 

2. Have you been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any felony, misdemeanor, or other criminal 
offense under thelaws of any state, the United States, or a foreign country, including any conviction which has 
been dismissed under Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code? If you are awaiting judgment and sentencing following 
entry of a plea or jury verdict, you must still disclose the conviction. 

 *Yes  No 
*If you answered yes to this question please provide details. If you have had a license disciplined, provide copies of the disciplinary order and 
any documentation of rehabilitation to the PTBC. If you have been convicted, please provide CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES of the court and 
arrest records for each criminal offense to the PTBC. Mail all documents within 30 days of the date you submitted this application to: PTBC 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2600, Sacramento, CA 95815. 
RS2 (New 09/2021) 

mailto:pt@dca.ca.gov
https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/
https://www.facebook.com/PTBCnews
https://www.twitter.com/PTBCnews


 

               

    

    
                  

  
       

     

    
             

   

    
 

 

  

   
         

If you had a license disciplined, list the state(s) in which your license was disciplined: 

SECTION C: Continuing Competency Requirements: 

Physical therapist and physical therapist assistant licensees must certify they have completed all continuing competency requirements 
required to restore a Retired license to Active. Continuing competency activity must be completed within the last two years prior to 
application and must be in compliance with Article 13 (commencing with Section 1399.90) (“Board’s continuing competency 
requirements”). Do not submit proof of completion of continuing competency activity with this request. Retain proof of completion for 
your records and provide to the PTBC only if requested. 

Continuing Competency Compliance Statement:
By signing below, I certify that I have completed at least 30 hours of the Board’s continuing competency requirements 
within the last two years. 

SECTION D: Declaration (See Attachment A before signing) 
I DECLARE UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY UNDER THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA THAT THE FOREGOING IS 
TRUE AND CORRECT. 

Signature: Date: 

FOR PTBC USE ONLY 
Date: Initials: RECEIPT #: ATS#: Amount: $ Check #: 

RS2 (New 09/2021) 



 

 

 

   
    

  
     

         
 

     
      

             
     

   
  

ATTACHMENT A 

PERSONAL INFORMATION COLLECTION NOTICE: 

The information provided in this form will be used by the Physical Therapy Board of California (“Board”) to 
process your request to change your license status to retired. Section 464 of the Business and Professions 
Code and Section 1399.18 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations authorizes the collection of 
this information. Failure to provide any of the required information (except the email address) is grounds 
for rejection of the form as being incomplete. Information provided may be transferred to the Department 
of Justice, a District Attorney, a City Attorney, or to another government  agency as may be necessary to 
permit the Board, or the transferee agency, to perform its statutory or constitutional duties, or otherwise 
transferred or disclosed as provided in Civil Code Section 1798.24.  Each individual has the right to review 
his or her file, except as otherwise provided by the Information Practices Act. The Custodian of Records 
of the  Board is responsible for maintaining the information in this form, and may be  contacted at 2005 
Evergreen St., Suite 2600, Sacramento, CA 95815, telephone number (916) 561-8200, regarding 
questions about this notice or access to records. 

RS2 (New 09/2021) 
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1 
Board Members Board Staff Physical Therapy Board of California 

President Jason Kaiser, Executive Officer DRAFT Meeting Minutes 
Alicia Rabena-Amen, PT, DPT Elsa Ybarra, Assistant Executive Officer 

Vice-President Sarah Conley, Manager September 16, 2021 9:00 a.m. 
Katarina Eleby, M.A. Liz Constancio, Manager 

26 Counsel; Jason Kaiser, Executive Officer; Elsa Ybarra, Assistant Executive 
27 Officer; Brooke Arneson, Board staff, and David Bouilly, and Trisha St. Clair, 
28 DCA SOLID Webcast Moderators. 
29 
30 
31 

Members 

Dayle C. Armstrong, Ph.D., P.T., MS, DPT 

Jesus Dominguez, PT, PhD 

Daniel Drummer, PT, DPT 

Johnathon Ervin 

Tonia McMillian 

Department of Consumer Affairs 
Public WebEx and Teleconference 

Platform 

Brooke Arneson, Executive Analyst 

For the sake of clarity, agenda items discussed during the meeting follow their original 2 
order on the agenda in these minutes though some agenda items may have been taken 3 
out of order during the meeting. 4 

5 
Thursday, September 16, 2021 6 

7 
1. Call to Order 8 

9 
The Physical Therapy Board of California (Board) meeting was called to order by 10 
President Dr. Rabena-Amen at 9:08 a.m. and adjourned at 4:10 p.m. on11 
September 16, 2021. 12 

13 
2. Roll Call and Establishment of Quorum 14 

15 
Armstrong - Present 16 
Dominguez- Present 17 
Drummer - Absent 18 
Eleby - Present 19 
Ervin - Present 20 
McMillian - Present 21 
Rabena-Amen - Present 22 

23 
All members were present with the exception of Dr. Drummer, and a quorum was 24 
established. Also present at the meeting were: Michael Kanotz, PTBC Legal 25 

https://twitter.com/ptbcnews
https://facebook.com/ptbcnews
www.ptbc.ca.gov


 

     
      

   
  

    
  

   
   

  
     

     
   

  
     

  
  

     
      

   
       

  
      

      
     

   
   

     
    

     
  

   
  

     
   

    
   

   
   

32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69

12. (C) Rulemaking Report – Discussion and Possible Board Action regarding 
License Renewal Exemption: Retired License Status Regulation – Heather 
Hoganson, Regulatory Attorney, Department of Consumer Affairs 

i. Proposed Addition of regulation as 16 CCR section 1399.14.1 or 
other placement as needed – Retired License Status 
ii. Proposed Amendments to 16 CCR section 1399.50 Physical 
Therapist Fees and CCR section 1399.52 Physical Therapist Assistant 
Fees regarding Establishing a Retired License Application Fee 

Mr. Kaiser reported that new proposed language was presented for Board 
consideration regarding retired license status and the language had been 
through the second level of DCA Legal review.  Mr. Kaiser stated that DCA Legal 
identified a few issues regarding the authoritative statue and what would be 
required for the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) approval.  Mr. Kaiser stated 
that BPC 464 states that the Board shall promulgate through regulation and shall 
include specific requirements and the previous retired license proposed 
language presented to the Board did not include the same outline as the statute 
and was not as easily interpreted.  Mr. Kaiser added that DCA Legal reviewed 
the proposed language and edited it to help ease the process of approval 
through OAL and this will prevent a delay later in the rulemaking process. 

Ms. Heather Hoganson, Regulatory Attorney at the Department of Consumer 
Affairs, reported that there were two new forms for Board consideration which 
will allow licensees to either place their licenses in retired status or restore a 
retired license to active status within 5 years of retirement.  Ms. Hoganson 
added that the revised regulatory text also specifies that the application fee for 
retired license status will be $100, which was determined in consultation with 
DCA’s Budget Office based on the actual cost to process the retired application 
which is new compared to the previous proposed language. 

Ms. Hoganson stated that DCA Legal has revised the proposed text to mirror 
the enabling statue more closely and the proposed text specifies that the retired 
licenses do not have to meet continuing competency requirements and there is 
a five-year window to restore a retired license before having to submit a new 
initial license application which mirrors the Board’s inactive license status. Ms. 
Hoganson added that this proposed regulatory change would create a new 
article 1.5 for license status regulations and DCA Legal recommended that the 
CCR be 1399.18 rather than the previous draft which was CCR 1399.14.1. 

LAHHOGA
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Mr. Kaiser stated staff agreed with the creation of the new article which would 
make the code more consistent and easier to understand.  Mr. Kaiser added 
that the changes to the proposed language are for legal compliance and the 
proposed language is operational and functional and allows PTBC to start 
issuing retired licenses again for those that need it while still recovering some 
of the administrative costs.  

Mr. Kaiser stated that the proposed language also solves the issue about how 
long a license can be in retired license status as the language specifies that if a 
retired license remains in retired status for longer than five years, they would 
need to reapply for licensure, and if they returned to active status before the five 
years, they would need to pay the existing renewal fee, and attest that they have 
30 hours of continuing competency pursuant to the continuing competency 
regulations. 

Ms. Eleby asked why the application form to apply for retired status was an 
attestation versus submitting proof of completion of continuing competency.  Mr. 
Kaiser responded that it is similar to the renewal process where PTBC asks a 
licensee, when they return to active status, to attest under penalty of perjury, 
that they have completed their continuing competency but do not need to 
provide it unless it is asked for. Mr. Kaiser added that this was for ease of use 
and to get the licensee back into the profession and not create an unnecessary 
barrier to licensure. Mr. Kaiser added that when PTBC returns to doing 
continuing competency audits, retired licensees returning to active status could 
be audited at a higher percentage level to ensure compliance if need be. 

Mr. Kaiser added that the information on the forms would be incorporated by 
reference and that the forms design would change so they were consistent with 
other PTBC forms. Mr. Kaiser stated that PTBC staff also recommends the 
motion to proceed with the proposed language and incorporate the forms by 
reference. 

MOTION: Approve the proposed regulatory changes and direct 
the Executive Officer to take all steps necessary to 
reinitiate the rulemaking process and authorize the 
Executive Officer to make any technical or non-
substantive changes to the rulemaking package, notice 



 

  
    

    
  

  
  

   
             
     
      

        
         
         
         
        
        

  
   

  
    

  
  

108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129

M/S:  

VOTE: 

25. Adjournment 

the proposed text for a 45-day comment period and if 
no adverse comments are received, and no hearing is 
requested, adopt the proposed regulatory changes and 
delegate to the Executive Officer the completion of the 
rulemaking file. 

Rabena-Amen/Armstrong 

Armstrong- Aye 
Dominguez- Aye 
Drummer – Absent 
Eleby – Aye 
Ervin – Aye 
McMillian – Aye 
Rabena-Amen - Aye 
6-0 Motion carried 

The meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m. on September 16, 2021. 



  
  

 

Underlying Data / Technical, 
theoretical or empirical studies, 
reports, or documents relied upon 

3. Retired License Workload 
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Physical Therapy Board of California 
Retired License Workload - Office Technician 

Workload Tasks Per Application Minutes Per 
Application OT 

Receive, log, and file application 1 30 30 
Cashiering - Data entry 1 10 10 
Respond to inquiries, monitor applications & other support duties 1 30 30 
Update status in Breeze IT system 1 20 20 
Notify licensee 1 5 5 

Minutes per Application 95 
Hours per Application 1.6 

Workload Costs per Application: $101 
Office Technician - $64 per hour 
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STATEMENT OF SERVICE BY MAIL 

I certify that the Physical Therapy Board of California of the Department of Consumer 

Affair has complied with the requirements of Government Code Section 11346.4(a)(1) 

through (4). 

The original notice was mailed on June 17, 2022. It was then discovered that the 

electronic version was not sent accordingly.  Therefore, a Notice of Extension was mailed 

June 20, 2022. 

Pursuant to Government Code Section 11340.85, the original notice and the Notice of 

Extension were sent by electronic communication, on June 20, 2022. 

DATED:  _____10/7/2022___ 

______Brooke Arneson_________ 

Brooke Arneson 

Legislation and Regulation Manager 

Physical Therapy Board of California 

Physical Therapy Board Statement of Mailing Page 1 of 1 
16 CCR 1399.18; 1399.50 & 1399.52 Retired License and Fees 10/7/2022 

https://11340.85


Updated 
Informative 

Digest 



    
    

 

  

  
 

    
    

   
   

  

PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 

UPDATED INFORMATIVE DIGEST 

No changes have been made which would warrant a change to the Informative Digest 
contained in the original notice for sections 1398.18, 1399.50, and 1399.52. 

While the section number of 1399.18 was corrected to 1398.18, this was a placement 
change for placement in the California Code of Regulations and does not materially 
affect the implementation of this proposal. 

Physical Therapy Board Updated Informative Digest Page 1 of 1 
16 CCR 1398.18; 1399.50 & 1399.52 Retired License and Fees 10/17/2022 
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PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 

Hearing Date: The Board did not schedule a public hearing, nor was one requested. 

Subject Matter of Proposed Regulations: Retired License and Fees 

Section(s) Affected: Add section 1398.18 to new Article 1.5 and amend sections 
1399.50 and 1399.52 of Article 10 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations (CCR). 

Request for Effective Date on Filing: 

The Physical Therapy Board (Board) requests that this regulatory proposal become 
effective January 1, 2023, to implement the provisions of Business and Professions 
Code (BPC) section 464 which benefits licensees and the public as it provides a 
consistent and simple process for obtaining retired license status. In addition, this 
regulation would eliminate barriers for those that wish to retire or restore their retired 
license to active status. Therefore, it would be of public benefit to hasten the effective 
date of these regulations. 

Updated Information: 

The Initial Statement of Reasons is included in the rulemaking file and is incorporated 
as if set forth herein and is updated as follows: in the Board’s 45-day comment period, 
the Board received two categories of comments: the first being dissatisfaction with 
paying a $100 fee for retired status; and the second expressing confusion if current 
licensees in retired status would need to pay to remain retired. The comments are more 
fully summarized and responded to below. No request for public hearing was received, 
and none was held. The Board, at its September 22, 2022 meeting, considered all 
comments and determined that the text would not be altered in response to those 
comments. The Board then adopted the text. 

Subsequent to adoption, within the parameters of the Board’s delegation to the 
Executive Officer, the text has been non-substantively amended as follows: 

• The section number has been corrected from 1399.18 to 1398.18, in order to 
properly be placed in new Article 1.5. 

• In 1398.18 (a)(1), the legal citation has been adjusted for clarity. While 
accusations are filed pursuant to the formal hearing procedures of the 
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Administrative Procedure Act’s Chapter 5, the technical update is more 
consistent with how the legislature references those procedures. 

• In 1398.18 (f)(4), the text was corrected to capitalize “board” to “Board” for 
consistency with the Board’s regulatory conventions. 

• In 1399.50, a comma has been placed after “Code” for grammatical accuracy 
and to ensure consistency with 1399.52. 

Local Mandate: A mandate is not imposed on local agencies or school districts. 

Small Business Impact: The Board has determined that the proposed regulations 
would have no significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting small 
businesses, including the ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in 
other states. 

Benefits: 

This proposal would establish a consistent and simple process for obtaining retired 
license status and would eliminate barriers for those who wish to retire and have the 
option of placing their license in a retired status. It would also save costs for those 
licensees who select this status by not being required to pay renewal or other fees 
associated with continuing competency should they wish to restore their license, as 
specified. This proposal further alleviates confusion to the public regarding the true 
status of an individual who does not wish to abandon their license by entering into 
delinquent status but would rather simply retire from practice. 

Incorporation by Reference – 1 CCR 20 

The incorporation by reference method was used because it would be impractical and 
cumbersome to publish Form RS1- Application for Retired License and Form RS2 – 
Application to Restore Retired License to Active Status in the California Code of 
Regulations (CCR) due to the layout format for processing. The Forms were made 
available to the public and were posted on the board’s website from June 20, 2022 until 
August 5, 2022 as proposed text, and will continue to be available to the public once 
approved. 

Consideration of Alternatives: 

No reasonable alternative to the regulatory proposal, including those listed in the Initial 
Statement of Reasons or provided by public comment, would be either more effective in 
carrying out the purpose for which the action is proposed or would be as effective or 
less burdensome to affected private persons and equally effective in achieving the 
purposes of the regulation in a manner that ensures full compliance with the law being 
implemented or made specific. 
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Summary and Responses to Comments Received During the Notice Period – June 
20, 2022, to August 5, 2022. 

The following recommendations and/or objections were made regarding the proposed 
action: 

The Board received eight emailed comments in two categories – the first being 
dissatisfaction with paying a $100 fee for retired status, and the second 
expressing confusion if current licensees in retired status would need to pay to 
remain retired. 

Dissatisfaction Regarding the $100 Fee for Retired Status: 

1) Alan, via email, stated “I think a practitioner should be able to retire their license 
without a fee. There is a fee everywhere for everything nowadays (software fees, 
convenience fees, regulatory fees, maintenance fees etc.) People are struggling and 
the PT board can set an example of goodwill if they want to be leaders and role 
models.” 

2) Ms. Galvan, via email, stated “Personally, I do not care at all if my license is shown 
as “inactive” or anything else. Charging $100.00 to label my license as “retired” is a 
very creative (though transparent) way for the APTA to make more money with 
which they will continue to not do anything constructive for the profession of physical 
therapy. I can’t believe that the APTA would think that anyone wouldn’t see through 
this scheme. I would like the option to NOT pay the fee and just have my license 
labeled as inactive or delinquent or whatever. After being a Physical Therapist for 
35 years I personally am way too old and have contributed way too much to the 
profession to have to deal with this kind of nonsense. It is insulting to have to pay 
more money along with a well-deserved retirement.” 

3) Ms. Dean, via email, stated “I do not believe there should be a fee to retire a license. 
I can understand charging a fee to reinstate a license, but not on the occasion of 
someone requesting to retire their license.” 

4) Ms. Freyder, via email, stated “I completely disagree with the proposed legislation to 
charge a fee to retire a Physical Therapy license. There is no way it should take 95 
minutes to process the application for retirement. The application is only 2 pages 
long, and assuming everything is computerized, it should take a few minutes. I am 
no longer working as a Physical Therapist and planned to retire my license at the 
end of 2022. However, I will not be paying this fee. California already overcharges 
for a license, costing $300, when my other Physical Therapy license in Pennsylvania 
costs $90, both for a 2-year period. I will simply put my license on inactive status. 
You have gotten enough money from me.” 
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5) Ms. O’Neill, via email, stated “I will keep this brief. I find the board's new decision to 
levy a "fee for retirement" simply abhorrent. This is nothing more than yet another 
tax on the American people. A click of the mouse to remove my license number from 
active listing in no way warrants $100! Offensive. I hope the board will consider it's 
thievery and rescind this order from consideration.” 

6) Mr. Monroy, via email, stated “Please do not add a $100 retirement fee. If this fee will 
be added, the board should explain how a person electing to go into retirement 
creates a task that justifies a $100 fee.” 

Board’s Response to the above comments: 

At the September 2021 Board meeting, the Board approved the $100 fee based upon 
the time spent processing such applications. After conducting a desk audit and based 
upon prior experience in processing prior retirement applications, the time to process 
was determined to be 95 minutes. This number was listed in the Initial Statement of 
Reasons, page 5, and in the Underlying Data listed. While, based on current costs, this 
results in a charge of $101, the Board set the fee at a rounded-down $100. 

The 95 minutes is broken down as follows: 

Physical Therapy Board of California 
Retired License Workload - Office Technician 

Workload Tasks Per Application Minutes Per 

Application 
OT 

Receive, log, and file application 1 30 30 

Cashiering - Data entry 1 10 10 

Respond to inquiries, monitor applications & other support duties 1 30 30 

Update status in Breeze IT system 1 20 20 

Notify licensee 1 5 5 

Minutes per Application 95 

Hours per Application 1.6 

Workload Costs per Application: $101 

Office Technician - $64 per hour 

According to the State Administrative Manual (SAM), the state must recover costs 
unless those costs are otherwise limited by statute. SAM section 8752 was renumbered 
to 9210 in January 2022, but the onus on state to recover “all costs attributable directly 
to the activity plus a fair share of indirect costs which can be ascribed reasonably to the 
good or service provided” remains unchanged. 
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BPC 464, subdivision (b)(4) states that a board “shall establish an appropriate 
application fee for a retired license to cover the reasonable regulatory cost of issuing a 
retired license.” 

The Board does not receive General Fund money from the state; it collects fees to 
offset the costs of its activities. Therefore, not charging for work done for licensees in 
one category would require licensees in another category to shoulder that burden, such 
as through increased renewal fees. To be equitable, only those who are requesting a 
specific work product, such as a retired license, should bear the burden of that specific 
cost. 

Assembly Bill (AB) 2859 (Low, Ch. 473, Stats. 2016), which provided for retired status 
under BPC 464, recognized that many licensees disfavor becoming simply delinquent. 
However, as the Board noted in its Initial Statement of Reasons, choosing to request a 
retired license is an option for licensees. If a licensee does not want to pay for and 
receive a retired status, they could simply not renew their license and show as 
“delinquent” until the license automatically cancels after five years. 

Confusion Regarding Current Licensees in Retired Status and Would They Need to Pay 
the $100 Fee to Remain Retired: 

7) Ms. Langfeld, via email, stated “I'm writing to you to let you know I did receive the 
Notice of New Proposed Rulemaking Regarding the Retired License and Fees. I am 
a retired PT and my PT license is on Retired Status. Here is the email string I have 
had with Justin Silva from License Maintenance Services in PTBC . I'm a little 
confused and don't know if I need to do anything. As you can see from this email 
string, I have been pro-active in maintaining my retired status for the last few 
years. So please let me know if I have been "grandfathered" in since I've been on 
this Retired Status for almost 3 years and am not a "new" retiree. It was not clear 
from reading the "proposed regulatory action and other pending regulations" whether 
I need to do anything since my license is already in the Retired Status. I understand 
the new rules regarding re-instating my PT License. 

8) Ms. Lewis, via email, stated “I just received the email about the proposed changes for 
retirement status in California for physical therapists and physical therapy assistants. 
When I moved to Oregon, I requested retirement status even though I am still 
working in the state of Oregon as a physical therapist. My question is since they are 
going to be charging $100 for retirement status does that exclude those who already 
have that status or would anybody who has retirement status now be required to pay 
that?” 

Board’s Response to the above comments: 

For those that currently hold a license in retired status and have inquired if they would 
need to pay a fee and complete the new application form: The Initial Statement of 
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Reasons, page 1, stated that by the end of FY 2020/21, the Board had issued retired 
status to 537 of its 43,570 licensees. Those 537 licenses have already been processed 
as retired; therefore, those licensees would be exempt from the provisions of this 
regulatory proposal and no additional form or fee would be required. Because those 
licenses need nothing further, the Board has determined that no text changes are 
required in response to these comments. To the extent that the comment implies that 
the regulatory text is vague, the Board notes that the regulation, once enacted, is 
prospective only, so would not affect any status already in effect. 

Physical Therapy Board Final Statement of Reasons Page 6 of 6 
16 CCR 1398.18; 1399.50 & 1399.52 Retired License and Fees 10/17/2022 



Meeting 
Minutes 

September 
21-22, 2022 

Agenda Item 
16 



 
 

  

   
     

     
     

  
 

 

  

 

 

 

   

  

 

 
 

 

  
 

 
       

 
 

 
 

 
 

   

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

  
 

  
 

 
 

   
 

   
        
 

 
   

 
   

  
  

   
   

   
  

 
   

   
   

   
 

 
 
 

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY  •   GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2600, Sacramento, CA 95815 
P (916) 561-8200 | F (916) 263-2560 
www.ptbc.ca.gov • facebook.com/ptbcnews • twitter.com/ptbcnews 

1 
Board Members Board Staff Physical Therapy Board of California 

President Jason Kaiser, Executive Officer Draft Meeting Minutes 
Alicia Rabena-Amen, PT, DPT Elsa Ybarra, Assistant Executive Officer 

Vice-President Erika Calderon, Manager September 21-22, 2022 9:00 a.m. 
Tonia McMillian Sarah Conley, Manager 

Members Liz Constancio, Manager San Diego Mesa College 

25 meeting were: Michael Kanotz, PTBC Legal Counsel; Jason Kaiser, Executive 
26 Officer; Erika Calderon, Manager; Sarah Conley, Manager; Liz Constancio, 
27 Manager; Brooke Arneson, Regulation Specialist; April Beauchamps; Kim Rozakis 
28 and Valerie Kearney, Board staff. 
29 
30 
31 

Dayle C. Armstrong, Ph.D., P.T., MS, DPT 

Jesus Dominguez, PT, PhD 

Daniel Drummer, PT, DPT 

Katarina Eleby, M.A 

Johnathon Ervin 

7250 Mesa College Dr, Room MC211A 
San Diego, CA 92111 

Brooke Arneson, Specialist 

For the sake of clarity, agenda items discussed during the meeting follow their original 2 
order on the agenda in these minutes though some agenda items may have been taken 3 
out of order during the meeting. 4 

5 
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 6 

7 
1. Call to Order 8 

9 
The Physical Therapy Board of California (Board) meeting was called to order by 10 
President Dr. Rabena-Amen at 9:13 a.m. and recessed at 5:29 p.m. on September 11 
21, 2022. 12 

13 
2. Roll Call and Establishment of Quorum 14 

15 
Armstrong - Present 16 
Dominguez- Present 17 
Drummer - Present 18 
Eleby - Present 19 
Ervin – Present 20 
McMillian - Present 21 
Rabena-Amen - Present 22 

23 
All members were present, and a quorum was established. Also present at the 24 

https://twitter.com/ptbcnews
https://facebook.com/ptbcnews
www.ptbc.ca.gov


 
  

 
  

  
 

 
   

 
  

    

  
   

   
   

   
  

    

    
 

 
  

  

     
     

 
 

    

    
  

  
     

 
  

    
  

 
  

35 

40 

45 

50 

55 

60 

65 

70 

32 
33 3. Reading of the Board’s Mission Statement 
34 

36 
37 

Mr. Ervin read the Board’s mission statement: To advance and protect the 
interests of the people of California by the effective administration of the 
Physical Therapy Practice Act. 

38 
39 

41 
42 

16. Consideration of Public Comments, Discussion, and Possible Adoption 
of Proposed Regulatory Text to Amend Title 16, California Code of 
Regulations, Sections 1399.18, 1399.50 and 1399.52 – Retired License 
Status and Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist Assistant Fees 

43 
44 

46 
47 
48 
49 

Ms. Arneson reported that the Retired License Status Regulation's 45-day 
public comment period commenced on August 5th and a number of comments 
were received which were provided in the meeting materials for the Board's 
consideration. She added that according to the Administrative Procedure Act's 
requirements for enacting regulations, the Board must consider each comment 
and in the final rulemaking package a final statement of reasons is prepared, 
wherein comments are summarized and responded to. 

51 
52 
53 
54 

56 
57 
58 
59 

Ms. Arneson stated that the Board received two categories of comments: the 
first was dissatisfaction with paying a $100 fee for retired status; and the 
second was expressing confusion if current licensees in retired status, would 
need to pay the fee to remain retired.  Ms. Arneson referred members to the 
prepared potential responses by staff and DCA’s regulatory attorney for each 
of the categories of comments for the Board's consideration and approval.  
Ms. Arneson added that both of the draft responses provided were from the 
Initial Statement of Reasons, which is part of the rulemaking package. Ms. 
Arneson stated that also included in the meeting materials was a potential 
motion to continue this rulemaking package onto the final phase of the 
regulatory process which includes filing with OAL for approval. 

61 
62 
63 
64 

Dr. Rabena-Amen suggested that the Board address the second category of 
comments received during the public comment period first, which was 
individuals expressing confusion if current licensees in retired status would 
need to pay the $100 fee to remain in retired license status. 

66 
67 
68 
69 

Ms. Arneson read the potential response to these comments from the meeting 
materials: “The Initial Statement of Reasons, page 1, stated that by the end of 
FY 2020/21, the Board had issued retired status to 537 of its 43,570 licensees. 
Those 537 licenses have already been processed as retired; therefore, those 
licensees would be exempt from the provisions of this regulatory proposal and 
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no additional form or fee would be required. Because those licenses need 
nothing further, the Board has determined that no text changes are required in 
response to these comments. To the extent that the comment implies that the 
regulatory text is vague, the Board notes that the regulation, once enacted, is 
prospective only, so would not affect any status already in effect.” 

Dr. Rabena-Amen solicited the Board for their feedback on the potential 
response to the grandfather comments received.  Dr. Drummer stated that one 
of the biggest challenges with this regulation is a licensee’s lack of 
understanding of what license status means. Dr. Drummer added that 
delinquent status has a negative connotation, however it simply means that 
the licensee has not paid or renewed and/or is done practicing.  Mr. Kaiser 
added that if a licensee chooses, they can stay in delinquent status for up to 5 
years and if not renewed within that time, the license would change to 
cancelled status. 

Dr. Drummer added that many licensees do not understand what retired 
license status means as it has its own definition and that is a piece of the 
challenge. He stated that we need to address educating the licensee 
population so that licensees understand the different license status terms, 
potentially in the next newsletter, or provide a license status table on the 
website. 

Dr. Armstrong asked what happens to continuing education requirements 
when a license is in delinquent status for up to 5 years. Mr. Kaiser responded 
that when a license is in delinquent status and they go to renew their license, 
they attest under penalty of perjury, that they are in compliance with the 
continuing education regulations. 

Mr. Kaiser clarified that retired license status is not new to PTBC and that 
previously PTBC did have its own statutory language regarding retired license, 
however, it was decided by the Board to utilize the department-wide statute of 
BPC 484.  Mr. Kaiser added that this regulation affects a small number of 
licensees (around 500) and that licensees can apply for retired license status 
during the promulgation of this regulation. He stated that no further action is 
required for those that are currently in retired license status and that they do 
not need to pay a fee. 

Mr. Kaiser stated that in the Final Statement of Reasons, staff will clarify that 
once this regulation is promulgated, for licensees in retired license status, a 5-
year clock starts, and they will have 5 years of retired license status once the 
regulation goes into effect, and after 5 years’ time, the license will switch to 
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retired cancelled status.  Mr. Kaiser added that retired license status is an 
option, however it is not something that licensees are mandated to use. 

Dr. Alicia Rabena-Amen asked how inactive license status fits into this 
discussion.  Mr. Kaiser responded that when a licensee receives their renewal 
notice and they must complete continuing education under penalty of perjury, 
they are saying they are in compliance.  Mr. Kaiser stated that if the licensee 
does not have the 30 hours of continuing competency, they can choose 
inactive status, they would have to pay the $300 renewal fee, however they 
are prohibited from practicing and they are exempt from the continuing 
education requirements. He added that if a licensee wanted to return to 
practice, they would have to file an application going from inactive to active 
status and they would have to attest to having the 30 hours of continuing 
competency in the previous two years. 

Mr. Kaiser added that PTBC would educate licensees and stakeholders via the 
newsletter, Board’s website, and social media channels to help educate the 
licensing population and consumers of this new regulation. Dr. Dominguez 
agreed that it is important to educate the public.  He stated that there is not a 
place on the DCA or the Board’s website where one can go and figure out all 
the different license statuses.  Mr. Kaiser stated that this would be added to 
PTBC’s website and PTBC could possibly include a FAQ to help licensees. 
He added that a definition is provided on the DCA license verification website 
by hovering over the license status. 

Board members were comfortable with the response provided by staff 
regarding the grandfather comment for those that hold a license in retired 
status and have inquired if they would need to pay a fee and complete the new 
application form and had no changes to the response language provided. 

Ms. Arneson provided the members with the proposed response to the 
commenters that expressed dissatisfaction at a $100 fee for a retired license: 

“At the September 2021 Board meeting, the Board approved the $100 fee 
based upon the time spent processing such applications. After conducting a 
desk audit and based upon prior experience in processing prior retirement 
applications, the time to process was determined to be 95 minutes. This 
number was listed in the Initial Statement of Reasons, page 5. While, based 
on current costs, this results in a charge of $101, the Board set the fee at a 
rounded-down $100.” Ms. Arneson referred members to the Retired License 
Workload for an Office Technician, provided in the materials. 
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Ms. Arneson continued reading the proposed response: “according to the 
State Administrative Manual (SAM), the state must recover costs unless those 
costs are otherwise limited by statute. SAM section 8752 was renumbered to 
9210 in January 2022, but the onus on state to recover “all costs attributable 
directly to the activity plus a fair share of indirect costs which can be ascribed 
reasonably to the good or service provided” remains unchanged. BPC 464, 
subdivision (b)(4) states that a board “shall establish an appropriate 
application fee for a retired license to cover the reasonable regulatory cost of 
issuing a retired license.” The Board does not receive General Fund money 
from the state; it collects fees to offset the costs of its activities. Therefore, not 
charging for work done from licensees in one category would require licensees 
in another category to shoulder that burden, such as through increased 
renewal fees. To be equitable, only those who are requesting a specific work 
product, such as a retired license, should bear the burden of that specific cost. 
Assembly Bill (AB) 2859 (Low, Ch. 473, Stats. 2016), which provided for 
retired status under BPC 464, recognized that many licensees disfavor 
becoming simply “inactive” or delinquent. However, as the Board noted in its 
Initial Statement of Reasons, choosing to request a retired license is an option 
for licensees. If a licensee does not want to pay for and receive a retired 
status, they could simply not renew their license and show as “inactive” until 
the license automatically cancels after five years.” 

Mr. Kaiser and members agreed to amend the last paragraph of the suggested 
response to the comments received regarding the $100 fee, they agreed to 
strike inactive from the first sentence to read “delinquent” and change the last 
line of the paragraph from “inactive” to “delinquent.”  The last paragraph 
amended would read: “Assembly Bill (AB) 2859 (Low, Ch. 473, Stats. 2016), 
which provided for retired status under BPC 464, recognized that many 
licensees disfavor becoming simply “inactive” or delinquent. However, as the 
Board noted in its Initial Statement of Reasons, choosing to request a retired 
license is an option for licensees. If a licensee does not want to pay for and 
receive a retired status, they could simply not renew their license and show as 
“inactive delinquent” until the license automatically cancels after five years.” 

Dr. Drummer added that for some of the comments concerning the fee, it is 
important to educate licensees that they are not required to pay anything to 
retire, and that retired license status is a choice. 

Mr. Kaiser stated that establishing any fee has some pushback from the 
licensee population and the retired license fee workload audit was provided to 



   
        

   
    

  
   

  
  

     

    
   

   
   

  
    

  
  

   
  

   
             
      

   
   

    
    

    
   

  
  

   
  

     

195

200

205

210

215

220

225

members, is part of the rulemaking package and DCA Budgets reviewed and 
196 approved it. He added that retired license status is still a renewable license, 
197 within 5 years and can save a licensee money should they change their mind 
198 on retirement and want to return to practice. 
199 

Dr. Rabena-Amen stated that a licensee in retired license status is still under 
201 the oversight of the PTBC and that burden cannot lie on the licensees that are 
202 renewing or joining the profession, therefore she felt that the retired license fee 
203 is justified. 

204 

206 
207 
208 
209 

211 
212 

MOTION: Adopt the regulatory text as noticed, approve the 
proposed responses to the retired license status 
regulatory comments with the edits made in the 
meeting today, and direct PTBC staff to take all steps 
necessary to complete the rulemaking process. 
Authorize the Executive Officer to make any technical 
or non-substantive changes to the rulemaking package 
and delegate authority to the Executive Officer to 
finalize the regulatory package. 

213 
214 M/S:  Drummer/Rabena-Amen 

216 
217 
218 
219 

221 
222 
223 

VOTE: Armstrong - Aye 
Dominguez- Aye 
Drummer - Aye 
Eleby - Aye 
Ervin - Aye 
McMillian - Aye 
Rabena-Amen – Aye 
7-0 Motion Carried 

224 
18. Recess 

226 
227 The meeting recessed at 5:29 p.m. on September 21, 2022. 



 

 

 

             

         

        

      
 

 
 

               
 

     
 

      
 

    
    
 

 

    
    
 

 

 
  

 

            
          

           
           

           
  

 
           

             
        

          
        

             
        

           
      

 
        

            
  

 
         

          
         

         
 

 

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY • GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 

2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2600, Sacramento, CA 95815 

P (916) 561-8200 | F (916) 263-2560 
www.ptbc.ca.gov • facebook.com/ptbcnews • twitter.com/ptbcnews 

Briefing Paper 

Date: August 18, 2022 Agenda Item 16 

Prepared for: PTBC Members 

Prepared by: Brooke Arneson 

Subject: Consideration of Public Comments for Retired License Status and 
Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist Assistant Fees 

Attachments: 1. Retired License Status Comments Received During Public 
Comment Period 

Background and Update: 

In 2013, Senate Bill (SB) 198 (Lieu, Ch. 389, Stats. 2013) was chaptered into law, adding 
BPC section 2648.7 to the Physical Therapy Practice Act. The amendment to the Act 
exempted a licensee from paying the renewal fee and from meeting the requirements set 
forth in BPC section 2649 (continuing competency) if the licensee applied to the Board 
for retired license status. However, SB 198 failed to adequately include a provision for 
application or reactivation, or a fee for administrative costs. 

At the end of FY 2020/21, the Board had issued retired status to 537 of its 43,570 
licensees since the Board was mandated to do so even though there was no means to 
support the program in terms of funding or specified requirements for exemption. In 2015, 
the Board was pursuing clarifying regulations to establish retired license status 
requirements when Assembly Bill (AB) 2859 (Low, Ch. 473, Stats. 2016,) was introduced 
and signed into law. AB 2859 authorized a board to establish regulations for a retired 
license system; however, the statute excluded a board that had other statutory authority 
to establish a retired license status. Because BPC section 2648.7 exempted a licensee 
from payment of renewal fees but did not specifically authorize the Board to establish a 
retired license, it was unclear whether the Board would be exempt from the provisions of 
AB 2859. Accordingly, during its 2016 Sunset Review, the legislature addressed this issue 
by repealing BPC section 2648.7, which enabled the Board to rely on the new retired 
license status statute, BPC section 464. 

After a fee study of the costs involved was conducted, at the Board’s September 17, 2021, 
meeting, the Board discussed and approved the proposed addition of 16 CCR 1399.18 
and the amendment of 16 CCR 1399.50 and 1399.52 to implement BPC section 464. A 
review of other board charges for retired license status applications is not inconsistent 
with the amount set by this Board. 

https://twitter.com/ptbcnews
https://facebook.com/ptbcnews
www.ptbc.ca.gov


 

 

        
        

         
  

 
  

       
       

        
    

         
   

 
  

  
 

 
    

           

 

           

         

        

           

      

 

  

     

      

    
  

 
 

        

       

            

         

     

    

    

   

      

 

         

        

Board staff prepared this rulemaking and, after review by the Department of Consumer 
Affairs and the Business, Consumer Services, and Housing Agency, submitted it to the 
Office of Administrative Law (OAL) on June 7, 2022. It was noticed for public comment 
from June 17 to August 5, 2022. No public hearing was requested nor held. 

A number of comments were received, which are provided for the Board’s consideration. 
According to the Administrative Procedure Act’s requirements for enacting regulations, 
the Board must consider each comment and prepare a Final Statement of Reasons, 
wherein comments are summarized and responded to. The Board received two 
categories of comments – the first being dissatisfaction with paying a $100 fee for retired 
status, and the second expressing confusion if current licensees in retired status would 
need to pay to remain retired. 

Staff has prepared potential responses to the two categories of comment for the Board’s 
review, consideration, and approval. 

Board’s Potential Response to Fee comment: 

For those commenters that have expressed dissatisfaction at a $100 fee for a retired 

license: 

“At the September 2021 Board meeting, the Board approved the $100 fee based 

upon the time spent processing such applications. After conducting a desk audit 

and based upon prior experience in processing prior retirement applications, the 

time to process was determined to be 95 minutes. This number was listed in the 

Initial Statement of Reasons, page 5. While, based on current costs, this results in 

a charge of $101, the Board set the fee at a rounded-down $100. 

The 95 minutes is broken down as follows: 

Physical Therapy Board of California 

Retired License Workload - Office Technician 

Workload Tasks Per Application 
Minutes Per 

Application 
OT 

Receive, log, and file application 1 30 30 

Cashiering - Data entry 1 10 10 

Respond to inquiries, monitor applications & other support duties 1 30 30 

Update status in Breeze IT system 1 20 20 

Notify licensee 1 5 5 

Minutes per Application 95 

Hours per Application 1.6 

Workload Costs per Application: $101 

Office Technician - $64 per hour 

According to the State Administrative Manual (SAM), the state must recover costs 

unless those costs are otherwise limited by statute. SAM section 8752 was 



 

 

          

         

  

        

          

 

         

       

  

        

 

 

       

     

        

           

   

       

 

   

   

 

  

   

   

 

   

 

 
 

  
 

   
    

   
   

    

renumbered to 9210 in January 2022, but the onus on state to recover “all costs 

attributable directly to the activity plus a fair share of indirect costs which can be 

ascribed reasonably to the good or service provided” remains unchanged. 

BPC 464, subdivision (b)(4) states that a board “shall establish an appropriate 
application fee for a retired license to cover the reasonable regulatory cost of 

issuing a retired license.” 

The Board does not receive General Fund money from the state; it collects fees to 

offset the costs of its activities. Therefore, not charging for work done from 

licensees in one category would require licensees in another category to shoulder 

that burden, such as through increased renewal fees. To be equitable, only those 

who are requesting a specific work product, such as a retired license, should bear 

the burden of that specific cost. 

Assembly Bill (AB) 2859 (Low, Ch. 473, Stats. 2016), which provided for retired 

status under BPC 464, recognized that many licensees disfavor becoming simply 

“inactive.” However, as the Board noted in its Initial Statement of Reasons, 
choosing to request a retired license is an option for licensees. If a licensee does 

not want to pay for and receive a retired status, they could simply not renew their 

license and show as “inactive” until the license automatically cancels after five 
years.” 

Board’s Potential Response to Grandfather comment: 

For those that currently hold a license in retired status and have inquired if they would 

need to pay a fee and complete the new application form: 

“The Initial Statement of Reasons, page 1, stated that by the end of FY 2020/21, 

the Board had issued retired status to 537 of its 43,570 licensees. Those 537 

licenses have already been processed as retired; therefore, those licensees 

would be exempt from the provisions of this regulatory proposal and no additional 

form or fee would be required. Because those licenses need nothing further, the 

Board has determined that no text changes are required in response to these 

comments. To the extent that the comment implies that the regulatory text is 

vague, the Board notes that the regulation, once enacted, is prospective only, so 

would not affect any status already in effect.” 

Action: 

Proposed Motion: “Adopt the regulatory text as noticed, approve the proposed 
responses to the retired license status regulatory comments, and direct PTBC staff to 
take all steps necessary to complete the rulemaking process. Authorize the Executive 
Officer to make any technical or non-substantive changes to the rulemaking package 
and delegate authority to the Executive Officer to finalize the regulatory package.” 



 

  

  

 

 

    

  

 

 

   

 

   

  

   

    

    

 

     

   

 

 

    

   

    

   

   

    

 

  

 

 

  

 

  

PTBC Retired License Status Regulation Public Comments Received 

1. Received 6/20/2022 

I think a practitioner should be able to retire their license without a fee. There is a 

fee everywhere for everything nowadays (software fees, convenience fees, 

regulatory fees, maintenance fees etc.) People are struggling and the PT board 

can set an example of goodwill if they want to be leaders and role models. 

2. Received 6/20/2022 

I'm writing to you to let you know I did receive the Notice of New Proposed 

Rulemaking Regarding the Retired License and Fees. 

I am a retired PT and my PT license is on Retired Status. Here is the email string 

I have had with Justin Silva from License Maintenance Services in PTBC . 

I'm a little confused and don't know if I need to do anything. As you can see from 

this email string, I have been pro-active in maintaining my retired status for the 

last few years. So please let me know if I have been "grandfathered" in since I've 

been on this Retired Status for almost 3 years and am not a "new" retiree. It was 

not clear from reading the "proposed regulatory action and other pending 

regulations" whether I need to do anything since my license is already in the 

Retired Status. I understand the new rules regarding re-instating my PT License. 

Thank you, and looking forward to receiving a response from you. 

PTBC’s Response on 6/28/2022: 

Good Morning XXXX, 

Thank you for contacting the Physical Therapy Board of California 

regarding the proposed rulemaking. 

As you are already a retired licensee, you are not required to pay the $100 

retired license fee proposed in this regulation. The $100 fee would be 

applicable for licensees entering into new retired license status once the 

regulation goes into effect. 

I hope the above addresses your below concerns. If you have any further 

questions, please let me know. 

3. Received 6/20/2022 

I just received the email about the proposed changes for retirement status in 

California for physical therapists and physical therapy assistants. When I moved 

to Oregon I requested retirement status even though I am still working in the 

state of Oregon as a physical therapist. My question is since they are going to be 

charging $100 for retirement status does that exclude those who already have 



  

  

  

 

 

   

  

  

   

   

   

  

 

 

    

  

   

   

   

   

   

    

 

  

    

  

 

  

   

  

   

  

  

that status or would anybody who has retirement status now be required to pay 

that? 

Thank you very much for the information 

PTBC’s Response on 6/28/2022: 

Good Morning XXXX, 

Thank you for contacting the Physical Therapy Board of California 

regarding the proposed rulemaking. 

Licensees that are already in retired license status would not be required 

to pay the $100 fee. The $100 fee would be applicable for licensees 

entering into retired license status once the regulation goes into effect. If 

a licensee decided to return to Active license status, they would be 

required to pay the renewal fee. 

4. Received 6/20/2022 

Hello. 

Personally, I do not care at all if my license is shown as “inactive” or anything 
else. Charging $100.00 to label my license as “retired” is a very creative (though 
transparent) way for the APTA to make more money with which they will continue 

to not do anything constructive for the profession of physical therapy. I can’t 

believe that the APTA would think that anyone wouldn’t see through this 

scheme. 

I would like the option to NOT pay the fee and just have my license labeled as 

inactive or delinquent or whatever. After being a Physical Therapist for 35 years 

I personally am way too old and have contributed way too much to the profession 

to have to deal with this kind of nonsense. It is insulting to have to pay more 

money along with a well-deserved retirement. 

5. Received 6/20/2022 

I do not believe there should be a fee to retire a license. I can understand 

charging a fee to reinstate a license, but not on the occasion of someone 

requesting to retire their license. 

6. Received 6/21/2022 

I completely disagree with the proposed legislation to charge a fee to retire a 

Physical Therapy license. There is no way it should take 95 minutes to process 

the application for retirement. The application is only 2 pages long, and assuming 

everything is computerized, it should take a few minutes. 

I am no longer working as a Physical Therapist, and planned to retire my license 

at the end of 2022. However, I will not be paying this fee. California already 



  

   

  

  

 

   

  

   

 

 

 

 

  

    

  

 

 

overcharges for a license, costing $300, when my other Physical Therapy license 

in Pennsylvania costs $90, both for a 2-year period. I will simply put my license 

on inactive status. You have gotten enough money from me. 

7. Received 6/21/2022 

I will keep this brief. 

I find the board's new decision to levy a " fee for retirement" simply abhorrent. 

This is nothing more than yet another tax on the American people. 

A click of the mouse to remove my license number from active listing in no way 

warrants $100! 

Offensive. 

I hope the board will consider it's thievery and rescind this order from 

consideration. 

8. Received 6/26/2022 

Please do not add a $100 retirement fee. If this fee will be added, the board 

should explain how a person electing to go into retirement creates a task that 

justifies a $100 fee. 



 
Written 

Comments 



 
 

 

From: [REDACTED] 
To: PTBC Rulemaking 
Subject: Fwd: Notice of New Proposed Rulemaking 
Date: Monday, June 20, 2022 1:13:29 PM 

WARNING: This message was sent from outside the CA Gov network. Do not open attachments unless you know the sender: [REDACTED] 

I think a practitioner should be able to retire their license without a fee. There is a fee everywhere for everything nowadays (software fees, convenience 
fees, regulatory fees, maintenance fees etc). People are struggling and the PT board can set an example of goodwill if they want to be leaders and role 
models. 

Alan 

HOME CONSUMERS LICENSEES APPLICANTS PUBLICATIONS FORMS LAWS 

Notice of New Proposed Rulemaking Regarding the Retired License and Fees 

The Physical Therapy Board of California (PTBC) is seeking proposed rulemaking. This proposed rulemaking adds Section 1399.18 to new 
Article 1.5 and amends sections 1399.50 and 1399.52 of Article 10 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR). 

This proposal would establish minimum eligibility requirements to enter into retired license as well as define requirements for restoring a 
license to an active status should a licensee with a retired license choose. These proposed regulations will also incorporate by reference the 
application to enter retired license (RS1 (NEW 09/2021)) and the application to restore a retired license into active status (RS2 (NEW 
09/2021)). Additionally, the Board proposes to amend sections 1399.50 and 1399.52 to set a one-time $100 application fee to enter retired 
license. 

No public hearing will be held unless requested in accordance with the Notice of Proposed Regulatory Action but written public comment will 
be accepted through 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, August 2, 2022 pursuant to the Notice. 

Please click on the link below to view all documents associated with this proposed regulatory action and other pending regulations. 

https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/laws/prop_regs/index.shtml. 

Attention: Please do NOT reply to this e-mail. If you have any questions or require further assistance, please contact the Board at PTBCBoardInformation@dca.ca.gov. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------- To unsubscribe from this email list please click on the link below and follow the 
instructions on the web page. 

https://ptbc.ca.gov/webapplications/apps/interested_parties/index.shtml 

mailto:PTBC.Rulemaking@dca.ca.gov
https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=http-3A__vmb.ca.gov&d=DwMFaQ&c=LHIwbLRMLqgNuqr1uGLfTA&r=qF1kz_mAcLwkvmrFytmRCJ8Kj5cmkhIbBx6bD9bd6Z0&m=wkckinh8Kp57-JO4M779h5Ma0JfiOT7NRjsNnYwFgXQ&s=j04WPRQtG-MDjUZHfSxaDpfQcC8hCWV1sbrC0Ws4FfM&e=
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/index.shtml__;!!Em4Sr2I!LmBjGP7JkVYaCCdzS9SXyeAD8-tzS2oCGhaQQrh3llg-rRxGkHog1i05rq8HGBqXTYHWmhYhSlvHVUIb2WvEUWXpsVLp$
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/consumers/index.shtml__;!!Em4Sr2I!LmBjGP7JkVYaCCdzS9SXyeAD8-tzS2oCGhaQQrh3llg-rRxGkHog1i05rq8HGBqXTYHWmhYhSlvHVUIb2WvEUTqeXnNl$
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/licensees/index.shtml__;!!Em4Sr2I!LmBjGP7JkVYaCCdzS9SXyeAD8-tzS2oCGhaQQrh3llg-rRxGkHog1i05rq8HGBqXTYHWmhYhSlvHVUIb2WvEUeRhWYIb$
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/applicants/index.shtml__;!!Em4Sr2I!LmBjGP7JkVYaCCdzS9SXyeAD8-tzS2oCGhaQQrh3llg-rRxGkHog1i05rq8HGBqXTYHWmhYhSlvHVUIb2WvEUcU-oBHB$
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/publications/index.shtml__;!!Em4Sr2I!LmBjGP7JkVYaCCdzS9SXyeAD8-tzS2oCGhaQQrh3llg-rRxGkHog1i05rq8HGBqXTYHWmhYhSlvHVUIb2WvEUR_66L_n$
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/forms/index.shtml__;!!Em4Sr2I!LmBjGP7JkVYaCCdzS9SXyeAD8-tzS2oCGhaQQrh3llg-rRxGkHog1i05rq8HGBqXTYHWmhYhSlvHVUIb2WvEUXHuZd3N$
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/laws/index.shtml__;!!Em4Sr2I!LmBjGP7JkVYaCCdzS9SXyeAD8-tzS2oCGhaQQrh3llg-rRxGkHog1i05rq8HGBqXTYHWmhYhSlvHVUIb2WvEUa27jXTk$
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/laws/prop_regs/index.shtml__;!!Em4Sr2I!LmBjGP7JkVYaCCdzS9SXyeAD8-tzS2oCGhaQQrh3llg-rRxGkHog1i05rq8HGBqXTYHWmhYhSlvHVUIb2WvEUZl-Yjca$
mailto:PTBCBoardInformation@dca.ca.gov
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://ptbc.ca.gov/webapplications/apps/interested_parties/index.shtml__;!!Em4Sr2I!LmBjGP7JkVYaCCdzS9SXyeAD8-tzS2oCGhaQQrh3llg-rRxGkHog1i05rq8HGBqXTYHWmhYhSlvHVUIb2WvEUczjTVwf$


 

 

 
 
 

 

 
 

 

From: [REDACTED] 
To: PTBC Rulemaking 
Subject: $100.00 fee for "retiring" PT license 
Date: Monday, June 20, 2022 3:44:41 PM 

WARNING: This message was sent from outside the CA Gov network. Do not open 
attachments unless you know the sender: [REDACTED] 

Hello. 
Personally, I do not care at all if my license is shown as “inactive” or anything else. Charging $100.00 
to label my license as “retired” is a very creative (though transparent) way for the APTA to make 
more money with which they will continue to not do anything constructive for the profession of 
physical therapy. I can’t believe that the APTA would think that anyone wouldn’t see through this 
scheme. 
I would like the option to NOT pay the fee and just have my license labeled as inactive or delinquent 
or whatever. After being a Physical Therapist for 35 years I personally am way too old and have 
contributed way too much to the profession to have to deal with this kind of nonsense. It is insulting 
to have to pay more money along with a well-deserved retirement. 
Sincerely 
Jane Galvan, BS, MS, DPT, OCS, retired 

mailto:PTBC.Rulemaking@dca.ca.gov


 

 

 

From: Robyn Dean 
To: PTBC Rulemaking 
Subject: comments on retired license 
Date: Monday, June 20, 2022 4:58:32 PM 

WARNING: This message was sent from outside the CA Gov network. Do not open attachments unless you know 
the sender: [REDACTED] 

I do not believe there should be a fee to retire a license. I can understand charging a fee to reinstate a license, but not 
on the occasion of someone requesting to retire their license. 

Robyn Dean 

PT11316 

mailto:PTBC.Rulemaking@dca.ca.gov


 

 
 

 

 
 

 

From: Sue F 
To: PTBC Rulemaking 
Subject: $100 fee to retire a Physical Therapy license 
Date: Tuesday, June 21, 2022 3:05:45 PM 

WARNING: This message was sent from outside the CA Gov network. Do not open 
attachments unless you know the sender: [REDACTED] 

I completely disagree with the proposed legislation to charge a fee to retire a Physical Therapy 
license. There is no way it should take 95 minutes to process the application for retirement. 
The application is only 2 pages long, and assuming everything is computerized, it should take a 
few minutes. 
I am no longer working as a Physical Therapist, and planned to retire my license at the end of 
2022. However, I will not be paying this fee. California already overcharges for a license, 
costing $300, when my other Physical Therapy license in Pennsylvania costs $90, both for a 2-
year period. I will simply put my license on inactive status. You have gotten enough money 
from me. 

Sincerely, 
Susan C Freyder MS PT 
License # PT 42432 

mailto:PTBC.Rulemaking@dca.ca.gov


 

 

 

From: Peggy Oneill 
To: PTBC Rulemaking 
Subject: retired fees 
Date: Tuesday, June 21, 2022 4:06:36 PM 

WARNING: This message was sent from outside the CA Gov network. Do not open 
attachments unless you know the sender: [REDACTED] 

Dear Brooke Ameson,

 I will keep this brief. 

I find the board's new decision to levy a " fee for retirement" simply abhorrent. 

This is nothing more than yet another tax on the American people. 

A click of the mouse to remove my license number from active listing in no way 
warrants $100! 

Offensive. 

I hope the board will consider it's thievery and rescind this order from consideration. 

Sincerely, 
Peggy O'Neill, R.P.T. # 9132 

mailto:PTBC.Rulemaking@dca.ca.gov


 

 

 

From: Jorge Monroy 
To: PTBC Rulemaking 
Subject: Regarding New Article 1.5 and New Section 1399.18 of Article 1.5 
Date: Sunday, June 26, 2022 7:23:46 PM 

WARNING: This message was sent from outside the CA Gov network. Do not open 
attachments unless you know the sender: [REDACTED] 

Please do not add a $100 retirement fee. If this fee will be added, the board should explain 
how a person electing to go into retirement creates a task that justifies a $100 fee. 

Thank you, 

Jorge Monroy, PT, DPT OCS 

mailto:PTBC.Rulemaking@dca.ca.gov


 

 

 
           

 
 

 

  
 

From: 
To: 
Subject: 
Date: 
Attachments: 

[REDACTED] 
PTBC Rulemaking 
Inquiries and comments concerning the proposed rule-making action 
Monday, June 20, 2022 2:44:35 PM 
image.png 
image.png 
image.png 
image.png 
image.png 
image.png 
image.png 

WARNING: This message was sent from outside the CA Gov network. Do not open 
attachments unless you know the sender: [REDACTED] 

Brooke Arneson 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2600 
Sacramento, California 95815 
Telephone: (916) 561-8260 
Email Address: ptbc.rulemaking@dca.ca.gov 

Hello Brooke, 

I'm writing to you to let you know I did receive the Notice of New Proposed 
Rulemaking Regarding the Retired License and Fees. 

I am a retired PT and my PT license is on Retired Status. Here is the email string I 
have had with Justin Silva from License Maintenance Services in PTBC . 

I'm a little confused and don't know if I need to do anything. As you can see from this 
email string, I have been pro-active in maintaining my retired status for the last few 
years. So please let me know if I have been "grandfathered" in since I've been on 
this Retired Status for almost 3 years and am not a "new" retiree. It was not clear 
from reading the "proposed regulatory action and other pending regulations" whether 
I need to do anything since my license is already in the Retired Status. I understand 
the new rules regarding re-instating my PT License. 

Thank you, and looking forward to receiving a response from you. 

Joan Langfeld 
[REDACTED] 

............................Previous emails below............................... 

From:J Langfeld  [REDACTED] 
Sent:Wednesday, October 6, 2021 1:41 PM 

To:Silva, Justin@DCA <Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov> 
Subject:Re: License 

mailto:Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov


 
 

 

 

Thank you for the clarification, Justin. And thank you for assuring me that I do not 
have to renew my retired status every two years. If indeed I want to re-instate my 
license, I will use the PT renewal form that was recently sent to me. 

Best Regards, 
Joan Langfeld 

From:Silva, Justin@DCA <Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov> 
Sent:Wednesday, October 6, 2021 10:04 AM 
To:J Langfeld[REDACTED] 
Subject:License 

Hello Joan, 

I see both of our email inboxes so I am aware of what is going on. 

We have eliminated our retired status and it no longer exists. Because you were able to place your 
license into a retired status before the board eliminated the status, you will still be able to allow your 
license to remain in the retired status. 

You will not be “bumped off”, or penalized. At present, your license is in a retired status. 

Thank you. 

Justin Silva 
Department of Consumer Affairs 
Physical Therapy Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2600
Sacramento, CA 95815-9924 
(916) 561-8272 (desk)
(916) 561-8200 (office)
(916) 263-2560 (fax) 

How was your PTBC experience?We want to hear from you...Please click on the link 
to take a quick survey.https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/S2XLWYG 

From: J Langfeld [REDACTED] 
Sent: Tuesday, October 5, 2021 11:17 PM 
To: Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov <Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov> 
Subject: Fw: Renewal for a Retired PT on this feed from 2 years ago (Re: Retired request form and 
questions) 

mailto:Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov
mailto:Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov
https://survey.https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/S2XLWYG
mailto:Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov


 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

Hello, Justin. 
I didn't think to add you on these last couple of emails to the main office, which might 
be you, but thought it best to keep you in the loop. 

If you do indeed get this email please respond so I at least know you've been 
receiving these emails. 
Thank you, 
Joan Langfeld 

From: J Langfeld [REDACTED] 
Sent: Tuesday, October 5, 2021 11:08 PM 
To: PT@DCA <PT@dca.ca.gov> 
Subject: Re: Renewal for a Retired PT on this feed from 2 years ago (Re: Retired request form and 
questions) 

Thank you for responding. 

I was told by Justin Silva two years ago (in the below email string) that "All Licensees 
receive renewal notices every 2 years. You will receive one also." I didn't receive one, so I am concerned. As 
you noted I am a retired licensee as of 10/11/2019. 

I don't remember if Justin Silva or a fellow PT told me that if I missed renewing my "retired status" I would 
no longer be on the retired status and if I wanted to be re-instated as an active PT, I would have to take the 
PT examination again. I want to be assured that I will not lose my "Retired Status". 

Please show me in writing what the rules are for the "Retired Status" or direct me where I can read the 
rules so in case I have been given inaccurate information mistakenly, I will still do the correct process. 

At this time I do not want to be placed back to an active status. I just want to renew as a Retired Status so I 
am not bumped off of the physical therapy licensure unknowingly. 

Thank you. 
Joan Langfeld 

From: PT@DCA <PT@dca.ca.gov> 
Sent: Tuesday, October 5, 2021 5:09 PM 
To: J Langfeld  [REDACTED] 
Subject: RE: Renewal for a Retired PT on this feed from 2 years ago (Re: Retired request form and 
questions) 

Hello Joan, 

Our system indicates that your license is in a RETIRED status. You submitted a request to be placed 
into this status on 10/11/2019. 

mailto:PT@dca.ca.gov
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Please see the link below. 

https://www.ptbc.ca.gov/forms/criminal_conviction.pdf 

Return this form if you wish to make the change from retired back to active/current. 

Thank you. 

Sincerely, 

Physical Therapy Board of California 
Licensing Maintenance Services 
2005 Evergreen St. Ste. #2600 
Sacramento, Ca 95815 

From: J Langfeld [REDACTED] 
Sent: Tuesday, October 5, 2021 3:53 PM 
To: PT@DCA <PT@dca.ca.gov> 
Subject: Fw: Renewal for a Retired PT on this feed from 2 years ago (Re: Retired request form and 
questions) 

[EXTERNAL]:  [REDACTED] 

CAUTION: THIS EMAIL ORIGINATED OUTSIDE THE DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS! 
DO NOT: click links or open attachments unless you know the content is safe. 
NEVER: provide credentials on websites via a clicked link in an Email. 

Hi, 
I'm not sure who I am emailing to, but I have left a message for Justin Silva a couple 
of times by phone and emailed him earlier this afternoon and have not heard back 
from him. Maybe he is on vacation? 

Anyway, I have not received a renewal form for a retired status and my birthdate is 
this month. 

I want to send in a form to renew my retired status and do not know the proper way to 
do this and want to make sure it gets done by my birthdate, [REDACTED]. 

Please advise what I should do. Here is a feed from today's email and from my 
emails of 2019 regarding my retired status. 

I welcome a call at [REDACTED], land line, if that is easier than an email. I can use 
the inital application form for retired status, but just don't want to do the wrong thing 
for renewal as a retired physical therapist and not be covered only to find this out too 
late. 

mailto:PT@dca.ca.gov
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Please at least let me know someone has seen these emails. And if you need my PT 
license, let me know that as well. 

Thank youfor your help. 

Best Regards, 
Joan Langfeld 

From: J Langfeld [REDACTED] 
Sent: Tuesday, October 5, 2021 1:17 PM 
To: Silva, Justin@DCA <Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov> 
Subject: Renewal for a Retired PT on this feed from 2 years ago (Re: Retired request form and 
questions) 

Hi Justin, 

I never received a renewal notice for my Retired Status (said I should have - below in 
your second paragraph). 

Please advise me how to renew my retired status without a renewal notice. 

Using the initital form you sent me 2 years ago to renew/change my license to a 
retired status? 
Send me a different renewal form that I haven't received? 

I am following up my 2nd phone call to you with this email thinking it may be easier for you 
to respond by email vs. phone call. 

My birthday is [REDACTED] and want to make sure I have renewed at this retired status 
properly. 

Thank you, 
Joan Langfeld 
[REDACTED] 

From: Silva, Justin@DCA <Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov> 
Sent: Thursday, September 19, 2019 10:22 AM 
To: J Langfeld[REDACTED] 
Subject: RE: Retired request form and questions 

Hello Joan, 

Once you place your license into a retired status it will STAY that way until you wish to make it active 
again. You send the renewal form in with your $300 renewal payment, attach a short letter 
explaining why you wish to come out, and catch yourself up on your continuing competency hours. 

All Licensees receive renewal notices every 2 years. You will receive one also. Inactive status differs 
from retired status in that going inactive exempts you from your continuing competency 

mailto:Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov
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requirement ONLY. 

Justin Silva 
License Maintenance Services 
DCA ▪ Physical Therapy Board of California 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350 
Sacramento, CA 95815 
P: 916.561.8272 
F: 916.263.2560 
Website: www.ptbc.ca.gov 

From: J Langfeld [REDACTED] 

Sent: Wednesday, September 18, 2019 1:00 PM 
To: Silva, Justin@DCA <Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov> 
Subject: Re: Retired request form and questions 

[EXTERNAL]:  [REDACTED] 
Hi Justin, 

Not sure if you got this, but I'm re-sending it. Please look at my questions below and 
get back to me at your earliest convenience. 

Thank you, 
Joan 

From: J Langfeld  [REDACTED] 
Sent: Tuesday, September 17, 2019 12:14 PM 
To: Silva, Justin@DCA <Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov> 
Subject: Re: Retired request form 

Hi Justin, 

I have a few questions I would like answered in relation to renewing my license: 

If a person is on the retired status, does the PTBC still send out a license 
renewal form every two years? 
Is there a time limit for how long a person can be on the retired status and then 
decide to lift that status, (complete the CEUs, pay the license fee, write a letter 
to the PTBC) to make the license current again/have the license re-instated? 

mailto:Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov
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If a person fails to renew the retired status every two years, would it be similar 
or is it different to what is written regarding an inactive status: Delinquent Status:If 
you choose NOT to renew your license, it may remain delinquent for up to 60 months from 
expiration. Your license will automatically cancel after 60 months. During this period of delinquent 
status, you may renew your delinquent license by paying all applicable renewal fees and one 
delinquent fee prior to automatic cancellation. You will be required to reapply for licensure after 
your original license has canceled.) 

I'm only asking these questions because there is nothing I could find written 
specifically for the retired status on this. And I would like to make the best decision for 
myself in renewing my license. It is very important to me. 

Thank you, 
Joan Langfeld 

From: Silva, Justin@DCA <Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov> 
Sent: Wednesday, September 11, 2019 3:40 PM 
To: J Langfeld [REDACTED] 
Subject: RE: Retired request form 

Hello Joan, 

As explained during our conversation, there is no official form for this. After placing your license into 
a retired status then requesting to come out to bring your license current again, you simply call the 
Physical Therapy Board and request a renewal form to be sent to you and you return the renewal 
form with your $300 payment. Or, you can go to the Physical Therapy Board website and click on, 
“forms.” The form you’d submit is: “License renewal – Criminal Conviction Disclosure Requirements” 

Submit a letter requesting to be taken OUT of the status with the renewal form, and your $300 
payment. (Your continuing competency requirement must be met also.) 

Justin Silva 
License Maintenance Services 
DCA ▪ Physical Therapy Board of California 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350 
Sacramento, CA 95815 
P: 916.561.8272 
F: 916.263.2560 
Website: www.ptbc.ca.gov 

From: J Langfeld[REDACTED] 
Sent: Wednesday, September 11, 2019 2:29 PM 

To: Silva, Justin@DCA <Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov> 
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Subject: Re: Retired request form 

[EXTERNAL]  [REDACTED] 

HI Justin, 

Thank you. I did find this form on the site. If you recall, I was asking you to send me a 
statement of how to re-instate my license if I want to come out of retirement. 

Please send send me a written statement of what I need to do to re-instate my license 
if I come out of retirement. There are no forms for this. 

Thank you. 
Joan Langfeld 

From: Silva, Justin@DCA <Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov> 
Sent: Wednesday, September 11, 2019 1:31 PM 
To:  [REDACTED] 
Subject: Retired request form 

This is the form you’ll need to submit If you wish to place your license into a retired status. 

Thank You. 

mailto:Justin.Silva@dca.ca.gov


 

 

 
 

 
 

From: Lewis, Clare 
To: PTBC Rulemaking 
Subject: Proposed changes to physical therapy retirement status 
Date: Monday, June 20, 2022 2:49:18 PM 

WARNING: This message was sent from outside the CA Gov network. Do not open attachments unless you know 
the sender: [REDACTED] 

Hi Brooke 
I just received the email about the proposed changes for retirement status in California for physical therapists and 
physical therapy assistants. When I moved to Oregon I requested retirement status even though I am still working in 
the state of Oregon as a physical therapist. My question is since they are going to be charging $100 for retirement 
status does that exclude those who already have that status or would anybody who has retirement status now be 
required to pay that? 
Thank you very much for the information, 
Clare Lewis DPT 

Sent from my iPhone 

mailto:PTBC.Rulemaking@dca.ca.gov
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