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Physical Therapy Board of California 
Department of Consumer Affairs 

INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 

HEARING DATE: May 10, 2012 

SUBJECT MATTER OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS: 

Retroactive Fingerprinting and Disclosure Requirements, Response to Board Inquiries 
for Physical Therapists (PT) and Physical Therapist Assistants (PTA). 

SECTIONS AFFECTED: Amend Title 16 California Code of Regulations as follows: 

 Add Sections 1398.14 (General Provisions) 
 Add Sections 1399.80 (Continuing Competency and Inactive License Status) 
 Amend Sections 1399.98 (Continuing Competency and Inactive License Status) 

SPECIFIC PURPOSE OF EACH ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, OR REPEAL: 
 
The main purpose of the proposed language is to establish requirements that a licensee 
must furnish a full set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice (“DOJ”) as a condition 
of renewal with the Physical Therapy Board of California (“PTBC”) if the licensee was 
initially licensed prior to 1998 or if an electronic record of the fingerprint submission no 
longer exists. Generally, this proposal would: 

1. set requirements and time frames for when the licensee would be required to 
submit criminal history information and other related records to the PTBC; 

2. specify the conditions and the purpose for which a full set of fingerprints would be 
required; 

3. establish that the licensee would be responsible for paying the costs associated 
with furnishing fingerprints and conducting criminal offender record searches; 

4. require a licensee to certify compliance with this new fingerprinting requirement 
on his or her renewal form and maintain records of his or her compliance for at 
least 3 years; 

5. authorize a waiver of these new fingerprinting requirements for licensees who are 
inactive or actively serving in the military outside of the country; 

6. mandate that licensees disclose on the renewal form whether the licensee has 
been convicted of a crime, as defined, or had any disciplinary actions taken 
against any other license he or she holds; 

7. mandate that licensees disclose on the renewal form whether the licensee has 
been required to report any settlement, judgment or arbitration award pursuant to 
B&P Code section 802  

8. specify that failure to comply with these requirements or submit a full set of 
fingerprints to DOJ renders any application for renewal incomplete and is 
grounds for discipline by the PTBC; and, 

9. add a new form and application requirement for activating or inactivating a 
license. 
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Proposed changes, by section, are more specifically identified as follows. 

1. Add Sections 1398.14 Response to Board Inquiry 

This Section heading and text would provide that if the PTBC asks a licensee to provide 
criminal history information, the licensee must respond to the request within 30 days by 
making available all documents and other records requested, and specifies that the 
information provided must be accurate. This Section would establish the timeframe for a 
licensee’s compliance with such PTBC inquiries and would ensure that accurate 
information is received from the licensee. This Section would protect consumers by 
assisting the PTBC’s Enforcement staff in the information gathering and investigative 
process for determining whether a licensee is in compliance with the Physical Therapy 
Practice Act. 

2. Add Sections 1399.80 Fingerprint and Disclosure Requirements for Renewal of 
License title and new Section. 
This heading text would inform licensees that the Sections that follow relate to 
fingerprinting and disclosure requirements for the renewal of a license.  
 
Add Section 1399.80(a)  
This Section would establish requirements that a licensee must furnish a full set of 
fingerprints to the Department of Justice (“DOJ”) as a condition of renewal with the 
Physical Therapy Board of California (“PTBC”) if the licensee was initially licensed prior 
to 1998 or if an electronic record of the fingerprint submission no longer exists. 
Licensees need to be made aware that certain groups of licensees will be required to be 
fingerprinted as a condition of license renewal, and this regulation would authorize the 
PTBC to require fingerprinting of these licensees. This Section would protect consumers 
by giving the PTBC access to currently available DOJ information relative to criminal 
arrests and convictions and would enable the PTBC to determine if violations of the 
Physical Therapy Practice Act have occurred.  
 
Add Section 1399.80(a)(1)  
This Section would establish that the cost of fingerprinting and conducting the criminal 
history record check must be paid by the licensee. This regulation is necessary to 
authorize assessment of costs to licensees, which is consistent with fingerprinting and 
record check costs that have been paid by every other licensee or applicant since 1998. 
  
Add Section 1399.80(a)(2)  
This Section would establish that as part of the renewal process, each licensee will be 
asked to certify on his or her renewal form whether or not they have submitted 
fingerprints to the Department of Justice as required.  
 
Add Section 1399.80(a)(3)  
This Section would establish an exemption from or waiver of the fingerprinting 
requirement if the license is on an inactive status or if the licensee is actively serving in 
the military outside the country.  
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Add Section 1399.80(a)(4)  
This Section would require affected licensees to retain a receipt, as specified, of 
compliance with the fingerprinting requirement for a period of at least three years. This 
requirement is necessary to provide evidence that a licensee has complied with the 
fingerprinting requirement. 
 
Add Section 1399.80(b)  
This Section would mandate that if a licensee pleads guilty, pleads nolo contendere or is 
convicted of any violation of the law during the prior renewal cycle, the licensee must 
disclose that fact to the PTBC, with infractions specified that may be omitted. This 
reporting requirement is necessary for consumer protection and enforcement of the 
Physical Therapy Practice Act. 
 
Add Section 1399.80(c)  
This section would require that a licensee shall disclose whether, since the licensee last 
applied for renewal, he or she has been denied a license or had a license disciplined by 
another licensing authority of this state, of another state, of any agency of the federal 
government, or of another country. Many licensees hold other licenses either in 
California or in other states. This language would assist the PTBC in obtaining 
information relative to discipline taken by other corresponding state or government 
licensing entities. This information is necessary to determine if disciplinary action is 
warranted pursuant to the PTBC’s authority (e.g., Sections 141 and 2660 of the 
Business and Professions Code).  This section would also mandate disclosure of a 
settlement, judgment or arbitration award of over $3000 to the PTBC pursuant to B&P 
Code section 802.  Currently, there is no administrative consequence for a licensee 
failing to inform the PTBC of such an award; and, therefore, most licensees do not 
disclose.  Disclosure would aid the PTBC in its enforcement efforts since often times 
patients are aware there is a complaint process for violations of the statutes governing 
the practice of physical therapy.          
 
Add Section 1399.80 (d)  
This Section would establish that failure to comply with these requirements would result 
in non-renewal of the license until the licensee complies with all of the requirements of 
this Section (e.g., fingerprinting, disclosure or record-keeping requirements). This 
requirement is needed to ensure compliance with the unprofessional conduct statutes of 
the Physical Therapy Practice Act and prevents possible renewal of a license for a 
licensee who has violated the law. 
 
Add Section 1399.80(e)  
This Section would provide that failure to furnish a full set of fingerprints as required is 
grounds for discipline by the PTBC. The PTBC must have the ability to enforce the 
requirements of the section by disciplining the license of a licensee who refuses to 
comply with the requirements for fingerprinting. The licensee could be in violation of the 
law or potentially cause patient harm if the PTBC does not have the ability to verify the 
criminal history of its licensees through the DOJ or take action for non-compliance. 
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Article 13. Requirements for Renewal 
Section 1399.98 Inactive Status 
Amend Section 1399.98(b) 
 
This Section would be amended to require the licensee to fill out an application, 
prescribed by the PTBC, to restore and inactive license. This new application would 
ensure consistency and specificity in the application of the PTBC’s requirements for 
categories of persons who wish to restore their inactive license.  
 
The application would contain the following: 
 

 A requirement for submission of the name of the licensee; 

 A requirement for submission of license type; 

 A requirement for submission of license number; 

 A requirement for submission of license expiration date; 

 A requirement for submission of a request to restore an inactive license; 

 A requirement that the applicant certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of 
the State of California to the truth and correctness of the information provided, 
and sign and date the application; 

 
 FACTUAL BASIS/RATIONALE:  
 
Proposed Adoption of Section 1398.14 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the California Code 
of Regulations 
This proposal would require a licensee to provide timely and accurate responses to 
inquiries and provide necessary documents needed by the PTBC to investigate and take 
appropriate actions against a licensee convicted of a criminal offense that is 
substantially related to the practice of physical therapy. 

To conduct an investigation on whether a conviction is substantially related to a 
licensees’ scope of practice, the PTBC must review “certified” police reports, “certified” 
court documents and review documentation that substantiates compliance with 
probationary terms and rehabilitation efforts. Without this information the PTBC, staff will 
be forced to expend more resources in order to make a final determination as to the 
appropriate action. This proposed language would enable the PTBC to take appropriate 
enforcement action for failure to provide the necessary documentation in a timely 
manner. Due to the enormous volume of conviction documents that must be obtained 
from the various court houses throughout California and other states, it is critical that the 
licensee provide accurate court and case number information to the PTBC. This 
regulatory proposal would assist in ensuring that such information is provided. 

Proposed Adoption of Section 1399.80 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the California Code 
of Regulations 

Business and Professions Code Section 2602.1, 2634 provides the authority for the 
PTBC to investigate each and every applicant for a license, before a license is issued, in 
order to determine whether or not the applicant has in fact the qualifications required by 
the Physical Therapy Practice Act. Furthermore, Business and Professions Code 
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Section 2635 allows the PTBC to require the applicant to disclose any criminal history 
that would give cause for denial of licensure as defined in section 480 of the Business 
and Professions Code. Currently, the PTBC, along with other boards and bureaus, 
requires applicants to provide fingerprints for a background check before issuance of a 
license. 
 
Recently, the Board of Registered Nursing has been the subject of a Los Angeles Times 
article regarding nurses who have a criminal background or are incarcerated and 
continue to hold a California license. Although the PTBC has always had a fingerprint 
requirement, it was not always an electronic submission; therefore, there may be 
licensees who have committed criminal acts that have not come to the attention of the 
PTBC. This regulation will insure that every licensee has an electronic submission on file. 
 
Proposed Amendments to Section 1399.98 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the California 
Code of Regulations 
 
Existing regulations specify that if a licensee wants to activate an inactive license, the 
licensee must submit an application to the PTBC, accompanied by evidence that the 
licensee has completed the required number of hours of approved continuing 
competency in compliance within the last two years preceding the application for 
activation. This proposal is necessary to require, in addition to the above-mentioned 
requirement, that a licensee who was never fingerprinted by the PTBC or for whom a 
fingerprint record no longer exists, furnish a full set of fingerprints as a condition of 
activating an inactive license. Further, this regulation is necessary for the PTBC to 
standardize, implement or make specific the requirements for processing requests for 
inactivation of a license or for restoration of a license per Business and Professions 
Code sections 700-704. 
 
A form prescribed by the PTBC, “APPLICATION – INACTIVE TO ACTIVE STATUS” will 
be required. 
 
The form’s contents are necessary for the following reasons: 
 
Name of Licensee 
This information is necessary so that staff knows the identity of the person whose license 
is being activated or inactivated. 
 
License Type and Number 
This information is necessary so that staff may apply the change to the appropriate 
record in the PTBC database. 
 
License Expiration 
This information is used as additional confirmation of the identity of the licensee. 
 
A request to restore an inactive license 
This information is required from a licensee to activate a license. By making this request 
the licensee informs staff of the change to restore an inactive license. This also places 
the applicant on notice that the request must be accompanied by evidence of continuing 
competency before the license can be restored, and that the continuing competency 
courses must have been completed within the two years preceding the application. This 
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is the standard for renewal of licenses and must be completed before license reactivation 
according to existing law, Title 16, California Code of Regulations Section 1399.98 
 
Certification and Signature of licensee and date 
This information is required to ensure that the individual submitting the form is in fact the 
licensee and certifies under penalty of perjury that the information contained in the form 
is true and correct. If it is determined at a later date that this is not the case, this enables 
the PTBC to take disciplinary action. 
 
DOCUMENT RELIED UPON 
 

1.  Economic Impact Assessment 
 
UNDERLYING DATA 

1. A memorandum from the DCA Deputy Director of Legal Affairs, Doreathea 
Johnson, regarding retroactive fingerprinting was sent on January 16, 2009. 
 

2. A memorandum from the DCA Director, Carrie Lopez, regarding retroactive 
fingerprinting was sent on November 5, 2008. 

BUSINESS IMPACT 

The PTBC does not believe that this regulation will have a significant adverse economic 
impact on businesses. There are approximately 750 vendors statewide, including small 
businesses that provide fingerprinting services. There should be no initial or ongoing 
cost impact upon the vendors because they are already equipped to provide the service 
and the fingerprinting of the applicable licensees will be extended over a two-year 
period. Additionally, this proposed regulation would only affect individuals for whom an 
electronic record of his or her fingerprints does not exist in the DOJ criminal offender 
record identification database and those licensees that do not comply with the proposed 
regulation. An individual licensee would pay an average of $63.00 to comply with the 
fingerprinting requirement over its lifetime, since it is a one-time requirement. 

SPECIFIC TECHNOLOGIES OR EQUIPMENT 

The regulatory proposal indirectly requires the use of Live Scan because state law 
requires DOJ to require electronic transmission for submission of prints pursuant to 
Penal Code section 11077.1. Live Scan is a well-established and readily available 
technology for submission of fingerprints. 

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES 

No reasonable alternative to the regulations would be either more effective in carrying 
out the purpose for which the action is proposed or would be as effective and less 
burdensome to affected private persons than the proposed regulations. 


