
 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 
 

 

 

 

 
  

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

Physical Therapy Board of California 

Second Modified Text 


Changes to the originally proposed language are shown in double underline for new 
text and single underline with single strikeout for deleted text. 

Second changes to the second modified text are shown in shaded double underline 
for new text and shaded double strikeout for deleted text. 

(1) Add Section 1398.14 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to 
read as follows: 

Article 1. General Provisions 

1398.14 Response to Board Inquiry.   

If the board or its designee asks a licensee to provide criminal history 
information, a licensee shall respond to that request within 30 days. The licensee 
shall make available all documents and other records requested and shall 
respond with accurate information. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 2602.1, 2607, 2615 Business and Professions Code.
 
Reference: Section 144, 2602.1, 2607 2607.5, 2615, 2634, 2635, 2655.3, 2655.92, 

2660, 2660.2, 2660.5, Business and Professions Code and Section 11105 Penal Code. 

(2) Add Section 1399.80 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to 
read as follows: 

Article 13. Continuing Competency and Inactive License Status Requirements for 
Renewal 

1399.80 Fingerprint and Disclosure Requirements for Renewal of License. 

(a) As a condition of renewal for a license that expires on or after January 31, 2013 
June 30, 2014, a licensee who was licensed prior to January 1, 1998, or for 
whom an electronic record of the submission of fingerprints no longer exists, 
shall furnish to the Department of Justice a full set of fingerprints for the purpose 
of conducting a criminal history record check and to undergo a state and federal 
level criminal offender record information search conducted through the 
Department of Justice. 

(1) The licensee shall pay any costs for furnishing the fingerprints and conducting 
the searches. 
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(2) A licensee shall certify when applying for renewal whether his or her 
fingerprints have been furnished to the Department of Justice in compliance 
with this section. 

(3) This requirement is waived if the license is renewed in an inactive status, or if 
the licensee is actively serving in the military outside the country. 

(4) A licensee shall retain, for at least three years from the renewal date, either a 
receipt showing the electronic transmission of his or her fingerprints to the 
Department of Justice or a receipt evidencing that the licensee’s fingerprints 
were taken. 

(b) As a condition of renewal, a licensee shall disclose whether, since the licensee 
last applied for renewal, he or she has plead guilty, plead nolo contendere or has 
been convicted of any violation of the law, omitting infractions not involving 
alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled substances, as defined by the California 
Health and Safety Code section 11007, in this or any other state, the United 
States, or other country. 

(c) As a condition of renewal, a licensee shall disclose whether, since the licensee 
last applied for renewal, he or she has been denied a license or had a license 
disciplined by another licensing authority of this state, of another state, of any 
agency of the federal government, or of another country, disclose any settlement, 
judgment or arbitration award of over $3000, pursuant to Business and 
Professions Code Section 802. or whether they have complied with the reporting 
requirements of B&P Code section 802.  

(c) As a condition of renewal, a licensee, since the licensee last applied for renewal, 
shall disclose the following; 

(1)Whether the licensee has been denied a license by another licensing 
authority of this state, of another state, of any agency of the federal 
government, or of another country. 

(2)Whether the licensee has been disciplined by another licensing authority of 
this state, of another state, of any agency of the federal government, or of 
another country. 

(3)Whether the licensee has had any settlement, judgment or arbitration award 
of over $3000, pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 802. 

(4)Whether the licensee has complied with the reporting requirements of B&P 
Code section 802. 

(d) Failure to comply with the requirements of this section renders any application for 
renewal incomplete and the license will not be renewed until the licensee 
demonstrates compliance with all requirements. 

(e) Failure to furnish a full set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice as required 
by this section on or before the date required for renewal of a license is grounds 
for discipline by the Board. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 144, 2602.1, 2615, 2630, 2634, 2684 Business and 
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Professions Code. Reference: Section 144, 802, 2615, 2630, 2634, 2635, 2660, 2655.3, 
2655.92, 2660.2, 2660.5, 2684 Business and Professions Code and Section 11105 
Penal Code. 

(3)  Amend Section 1399.98 of Division 13.2 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to 
read as follows: 

1399.98. Inactive Status. 

(a) Upon written request, the board may grant inactive status to a licensee if, at the 
time of application for inactive status, the license is current and not suspended, 
revoked, or otherwise punitively restricted by the board. 

(b) In order to restore an inactive license to active status, the licensee shall: 

a.	 Submit a completed Inactive/Active application form, accompanied by 
evidence that the licensee has completed the required number of hours of 
approved continuing competency, in compliance with this article within the 
last two years preceding such application. The application shall be made 
on forms prescribed by the board and shall contain the following: 

(1) 	 The name of the licensee. 
(2) 	License type. 
(3) 	License number. 
(4) 	 License expiration date. 
(5) 	 A request to restore an inactive license 
(6) 	Disclosure whether, since the licensee last applied for renewal, he or 

she has plead guilty, plead nolo contendere, been convicted of a 
crime, been denied a license or had a license disciplined by another 
licensing authority of this state, of another state, of any agency of the 
federal government, or of another country, and disclose any 
settlement, judgment or arbitration award of over $3000, pursuant to 
Business and Professions Code Section 802. 

(7) 	Certification under penalty of perjury of the laws of the State of 
California to the truth and correctness of information provided  

(8) 	 Signature of licensee 
(9) 	Date 

b.	 Pay the renewal and any continuing competency fees. 

(b) The licensee shall not engage in any activity for which a license is required. 

(c) An inactive license shall be renewed during the same time period in which an 
active license or certificate is renewed. Any continuing education requirements for 
renewing a license are waived. 

(d) The renewal fee for an inactive license is the same as the fee to renew an active 
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license. 

(e) In order to restore an inactive license to active status, the licensee shall: 

(a)(1) Submit a completed Inactive/Active application form, accompanied by 
evidence that the licensee has completed the required number of hours of approved 
continuing competency, in compliance with this article within the last two years 
preceding such application. The application shall be made on forms prescribed by 
the board and shall contain the following: 

(1A) The name of the licensee. 

(2B) License type. 

(3C) License number. 

(4D) License expiration date. 

(5E) A request to restore an inactive license 

(6F) Disclosure whether, since the licensee last applied for renewal, he or
 

she has plead guilty, plead nolo contendere, been convicted of a 
crime, been denied a license or had a license disciplined by another 
licensing authority of this state, of another state, of any agency of the 
federal government, or of another country, and disclose any 
settlement, judgment or arbitration award of over $3000, pursuant to 
Business and Professions Code Section 802. 

(7G) Certification under penalty of perjury of the laws of the State of 
California to the truth and correctness of information provided  

(8H) Signature of licensee 
(9I) Date 

b.(2) Pay the renewal and any continuing competency fees. 

(e) To restore an inactive license to an active status, the holder shall do both of the 
following: 

1. Pay the renewal and any continuing competency fees. 

2. Complete continuing education equivalent to that required for a single 
renewal period of an active license within the last two years prior to 
applying to restore the license to active status. 

(f) The inactive status of any licensee does not deprive the board of its authority to 
institute or continue any disciplinary or enforcement action against the licensee. 

NOTE: Authority: Sections 2615 and 2676, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 700, 701, 702, 703, 704, 802, 2676 and 2684, Business and 
Professions Code. 
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