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Physical Therapy Board of California

The Laws and Regulation Governing Physical Therapist License Applicants

Business and Professions Codes

2636.5. Reciprocity Applicant

(a) An applicant may be issued a license without a written examination if he or she meets all of the following:
(1) He or she is at the time of application licensed or registered as a physical therapist in a state, district, or
territory of the United States having, in the opinion of the board, requirements for licensing or registration
equal to or higher than those in California, and he or she has passed, to the satisfaction of the board, an
examination for licensing or registration that is, in the opinion of the board, comparable to the examination
used in this state.

(2) He or she is a graduate of a physical therapist education program approved by the board, or has met the
requirements of Section 2653.

(3) He or she files an application as provided in Section 2632 and meets the requirements prescribed by
Sections 2635 and 2650.

(b) An applicant for licensure under subdivision (a), whose application is based on a certificate issued by a
physical therapy licensing authority of another state may be required to pass an oral examination given by the
board and file a statement of past work activity.

(c) An applicant who has filed a physical therapy application under this section with the committee may,
between the date of receipt of notice that his or her application is on file and the date of receipt of his or her
license, perform as a physical therapist under the direct and immediate supervision of a physical therapist
licensed in this state.

During this period the applicant shall identify himself or herself only as a "physical therapist license applicant."
If the applicant under this section does not qualify and receive a license as provided in this section and does
not qualify under Section 2639 all privileges under this section shall terminate upon notice by certified mail,
return receipt requested. An applicant may only qualify once to perform as a physical therapist license
applicant.

2640. Computer Administered Testing/Physical Therapy License Applicant

(a) If the board uses computer administered testing for the administration of the licensing examination, this
section shall apply and Section 2639 shall not apply.

(b) Every graduate of an approved physical therapist education program who has filed a complete application
for licensure with the board for the first time may, following receipt of a letter of authorization to take the
licensing examination and perform as a "physical therapist license applicant," perform as a physical therapist
under the direct and immediate supervision of a physical therapist licensed in this state, for 90 days pending
the results of the first licensing examination administered. During this period, the applicant shall identify
himself or herself only as a "physical therapist license applicant.” If the applicant passes the examination, the
physical therapist license applicant status shall remain in effect until a regular renewable license is issued, or
licensure is denied, by the board.

(c) A person shall not be considered a graduate unless he or she has successfully completed all the clinical
training and internships required for graduation from the program.

(d) If the applicant fails to take the examination within 90 days or fails to pass the examination or receive a
license, all privileges under this section shall terminate. An applicant may only qualify once to perform as a
physical therapist license applicant.
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2653. Applicants from Foreign Schools

(a) An applicant for a license as a physical therapist who was issued a diploma by a physical therapist
educational program that is not an approved program and is not located in the United States shall meet all of
the following requirements in order to be licensed as a physical therapist:

(1) Furnish documentary evidence satisfactory to the committee, that he or she has completed the equivalent
professional degree to that issued by a United States accredited physical therapist education program in a
physical therapist education program that entitles the applicant to practice as a physical therapist in the
country where the diploma was issued. The physical therapy education received by the applicant shall meet
the criteria set forth in subdivision (b) and 8 of Section 2650. The committee may require an applicant to
submit documentation of his or her education to a credentials evaluation service for review and a report to the
committee.

(2) Pass the written examination required by Section 2636. The requirements to pass the written examination
shall not apply to an applicant who at the time of application has passed, to the satisfaction of the committee,
an examination for licensure in another state, district, or territory of the United States, that is, in the opinion of
the committee, comparable to the examination given in this state.

(3) Complete a period of clinical service under the direct and immediate supervision of a physical therapist
licensed by the board which does not exceed nine months in a location approved by the committee, in a
manner satisfactory to the committee. The applicant shall have passed the written examination required in
subdivision (b) prior to commencing the period of clinical service. The committee shall require the supervising
physical therapist to evaluate the applicant and report his or her findings to the committee. The committee
may in its discretion waive all or part of the required clinical service pursuant to guidelines set forth in its
regulations. During the period of clinical service until he or she is issued a license as a physical therapist by
the committee, the applicant shall be identified as a "physical therapist license applicant.”

(4) An applicant for licensure under this subdivision, whose application is based on a certificate issued by a
physical therapist licensing authority of another state, may be required to pass an oral examination given by
the committee, and to file a statement of past work activity.

(b) Nothing contained in this section shall prohibit the committee from disapproving any foreign physical
therapist education program or from denying the applicant if, in the opinion of the committee, the instruction
received by the applicant or the courses were not equivalent to that required by this chapter. If the applicant
does not qualify to take the physical therapist examination, his or her education may be evaluated and the
applicant may be eligible to take the physical therapist assistant examination.

Title 16, California Code of Regulations

1399.10. Supervision of Physical Therapist License Applicant

Pursuant to Section 2639 of the code, a physical therapist license applicant whose application for licensure
has been filed and reviewed by the board may perform as a physical therapist if he or she is under the direct
and immediate supervision of a physical therapist licensed by the board. "Direct and immediate supervision"
means a supervisor shall at all times be responsible for and provide adequate supervision of the work
performed by the physical therapist license applicant and shall be in close proximity to the location where the
physical therapist license applicant is rendering physical therapy treatment. The physical therapist license
applicant shall document each treatment in the patient record, along with his or her signature. A supervising
physical therapist shall countersign with his or her first initial and last name in the patient's record on the same
day as patient related tasks were provided by the physical therapist license applicant.

A supervising physical therapist shall document receipt of the letter authorizing physical therapist license
applicant status and record the expiration date of such status in the employee record. A supervising physical
therapist shall require the applicant to provide documentation of the license issued at the conclusion of the
physical therapist license applicant status. If the applicant fails to pass the licensing examination all privileges
to work as a physical therapist license applicant shall terminate. Authorizing the physical therapist license
applicant to work after the conclusion of physical therapist applicant status constitutes unprofessional
conduct.
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