Graduate from an Accredited PTA Program
Before applying to the PTBC you must have graduated from an accredited PTA program and have in your possession a completed Certificate of Completion Form (P1E). The P1E form must remain in a sealed envelope and be submitted with the application. Applications received without the P1E will be considered incomplete.
You must have a current license at the time of application in another state, district, or territory in the United States in order to apply by endorsement pursuant to Section 2636.5 of the Business and Professions Code. Information on "What Makes a Complete Application" is available under the Application Instructions below. Please note: If your NPTE Score Transfer result indicates you failed to pass the NPTE for California, you will be required to retake the NPTE and you will not receive physical therapist license applicant status.
All applicants for licensure are required to take and pass the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) (Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant Examination) and the California Law Examination (CLE), which relates to the practice of physical therapy in California. The CLE is a one-hour multiple-choice examination. Applicants applying through endorsement who have passed the NPTE for California will only need to register for the CLE.
STOP! Do you have a completed P1E in a sealed envelope in your possession to submit with your application?
If no, do not proceed with submitting an application to the PTBC.
Submitting an Incomplete Application May be Costly
If an application is processed and is deemed incomplete, the application will be closed. You will then be required to submit a new application, the application processing fee, and have your fingerprints resubmitted to Department of Justice and Federal Bureau of Investigation.
APPLICATION PROCESSING TIME FRAME - The PTBC will acknowledge receipt of your application within 30 days. Once all deficiencies in your application are satisfied and your scores are received, a license is generally issued within 45 days. Due to the large volume of applications, please do not contact the PTBC during this period, staff is unable to check on the status of your application.
FEE SCHEDULE - Must be submitted with the application.
APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE - Must be fully completed and signed.
CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION FORM (P1E) - Must be submitted with the application in a sealed envelope.
WHAT MAKES AN APPLICATION COMPLETE - Please read prior to submitting your application.