Examination Information

All applicants for licensure are required to take and pass the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) (Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant Examination) and the California Law Examination (CLE), which relates to the practice of physical therapy in California. Applicants applying through endorsement who have passed the NPTE will only need to register for the CLE. The computer-based NPTE and CLE are administered by FSBPT through Prometric.

Graduate from an Accredited PT or PTA Program
Register online for the NPTE and/or CLE directly with the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) at the same time you submit your application to the PTBC. The FSBPT's Online Registration website is at https://staff.fsbpt.net/pt/. You will submit the NPTE and/or CLE fees directly to the FSBPT.

Foreign Educated Graduate and Equivalency Applicants
Do NOT register online for the examination(s) until you have received written notification from the PTBC that indicates you qualify and are approved to register with the FSBPT to sit for the examination(s).

Examination Fees When Registering to Take the NPTE

Physical Therapy
Physical Therapist Assistant
California Law
$370 (paid to FSBPT) and $70.6 (paid to Prometric)
$370 (paid to FSBPT) and $55.6 (paid to Prometric)
$30 (paid to FSBPT) and $20 (paid to Prometric)
 

You are only allowed to sit for the NPTE three (3) times in a 12 month period. If the PTBC closes your application due to failing to pass the NPTE, please contact the FSBPT to verify when you are eligible to sit for the examination(s) again before reapplying.

FSBPT Contact Information
1-703-739-9420, https://staff.fsbpt.net/pt/, or www.fsbpt.org

National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE) Information and Study Guide https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/NPTECandidateHandbook.aspx

California Law Examination (CLE) Information and Study Guide
The CLE is a one-hour multiple-choice examination and it covers laws and regulations related to the practice of physical therapy in California.
California Laws and Regulations Related to the Practice of Physical Therapy

Exam Results
Within 1-2 days after taking an exam, you can view your exam results on FSBPT´s website at www.fsbpt.org. The Board will ONLY send an exam result letter and an Exam Score Report to applicants that have failed an exam because his/her application and/or work status might change with the failure of the exam(s). If an applicant would like a detailed Individual Score Report, it can be purchased from FSBPT at https://www.fsbpt.org/OurServices/CandidateServices/IndividualScoreReport.aspx